Summer Lovin’ had me a blast….

Happy summer, everybody!

It has been a long time coming but it’s finally officially here. It is also the longest day of the year which I love! I hate the nights dark at 4:30 and I look forward to this day all year.

Tonight I got caught in a lot of traffic and met up with the crew at the dog park. I only walked for about a half an hour and then Rosemary and I went to The Phoenix. We had gone to Kimballs last week and we both really wanted the seafood but didn’t get it so we broke down and got it tonight. She got fried clams and I got the fish & chips. Plus 2 beers each. I know, I know… what am I going to do? It’s like I lose all reasoning when I go out to eat.

My summer pants do not fit. I was wearing pants yesterday that the 2 metal clasps were left undone and the button left an imprint on my stomach. Seriously… I can lose weight and watch what I eat vigorously. I have before. I just don’t know what it will take this time to get my mind set there. I’ll reflect on this and let you know what I come up with.

In the mean time I may try these yummy summer recipes next week for lunches.

This was came from Tina Haupert from http://www.CarrotsNCake.com

TropicalMintSmoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup crushed pineapple (I used canned)
  • 1/4 cup fresh mint leaves
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 cup Silk Pure Coconut Vanilla

Directions: Combine ingredients in a blender until smooth.

WATERMELON SALAD WITH ARUGULA, GOAT CHEESE, AND CANDIED WALNUTS FROM WWW.AGAINSTALLGRAIN.COM

This is a salad that looks so refreshing and light. What says summer like a Watermelon?

Ingredients (yields 6 individual servings)

6 pieces of watermelon, cut to 1 inch thickness
2 cups baby arugula
2 tablespoons fresh mint, chopped
2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
pinch of salt and pepper
1/4 cup crumbled goat cheese
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup Spiced Candied Walnuts, roughly chopped

Directions

Using a large biscuit cutter, or just great circle cutting knife skills!, cut the watermelon slices into round circles. Use a knife to trim off any parts that make the circle uneven so it sits flat on a plate.

In a medium bowl, toss the arugula with the mint, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, and pepper.

Arrange the watermelon circles on a plate, then top each with a small handful of the arugula mixture (roughly 1/3 cup each).

Sprinkle each salad with goat cheese and the chopped walnuts, then drizzle the balsamic vinegar over the tops.

Enjoy!

So right now I am full to the max and my stomach is “rolling” as my dad would say. The Fish & Chips were delish and hit the spot but I need to really make a commitment to eating healthier.

I am going to prepare for the week on Sunday and I’ll tell you all about it then.

Have  great weekend and enjoy the sun!

Please be sure to visit my website at http://www.fabinyour40s.com to see recipes, fashion, free and fun stuff and so much more!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

