Bellying up to the Barre

Last night I went to a new exercise class that I have been dying to try and the class didn’t disappoint.

It was a VBarre class given by Julie Quirk of Studio Q in Fitchburg. Vbarre is a class deigned to tone, trim and transform the body with a fusion of , pilates and resistance training . Get greater results in less time with Vbarre’s philosophy of dynamic movement: the art of targeting multiple muscle groups at once ! By blending dynamic movement with calorie blasting cardio, Vbarre targets those trouble zones such as the hips, thighs, glutes, and core delivering one powerful workout !

Well, who doesn’t want that?

I took classes with Julie many years ago until she took her talents and opened her own studio. I have been eager to take a class with Julie again; I just had to fit it into my busy schedule.

I arrived early and chatted with a group of very nice women.  I explained that I was new and asked if they could give me the low-down. They told me the class was a great workout and a whole lot of fun.  They were right.

The class was an hour of toning, sweating and having fun. We used bands, balls, face cloths and our bodies and a bar to work our muscles with low impact to our bodies.  The moves were easy to follow and I sweated more in this class than some aerobic classes I have taken.  There was no pressure to “keep up” and I noticed people modified to their own needs.  Julie is warm, full of energy and motivating.

Just look at that smile!

What I also really liked about this class was that all the people were so friendly and helpful!  I met another “newbie” Becky, and the other women helped us get set up with the equipment we needed. There was a lot of laughing and you could tell the women enjoyed coming to class every week.  I spoke with a woman after class and she was staying for the Zumba class after the VBarre class and recommended highly I stay for it.

I would have loved to try Julie’s other classes as the one I took was fabulous and I am sure her others are as well.

Here is a link to Julie’s web-site of her classes and times.

http://www.studioq.org/default.html

Be sure to call and see if you need to reserve a spot. She is a popular lady with good reason! You will love the results. Today I can feel that I had a good work-out yesterday.

I wish I could have stayed for another class but I was off to have dinner. That brings up my eating journal for today.

Breakfast

Shake with maple syrup and butterscotch jello pudding

Snack

Pistachios

Lunch

Salad topped with chicken and Fat Free Balsamic Vinaigrette

Snack

Raspberries

Dinner

Half a grilled chicken, onion, peppers and mushrooms wrap.

That’s wrap until Sunday night! Have a great weekend, everyone.

This entry was posted in Fitness, Goals, health, laughter, Product review, Uncategorized, weight loss, women over 40, working out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

