You don’t want to miss this!

  It’s Wednesday already. Only 2 more days until a nice, long weekend.

 I have been blogging about eating my Shakeology Shakes but with a holiday weekend coming I wanted to mention a store that has yummy foods perfect for a long weekend.

 If you are going to be on The Cape this weekend you don’t want to miss 1816 House Gourmet. As the name indicates it is a gourmet food shop that has everything from Stonewall kitchen products, Cape Cod Saltworks, Pemberton pasta sauces, and well you name it,  and they have it!

 I was in there about a month ago when they were just gearing up for the season. I bought a vegetable risotto and a butternut squash risotto. Now you have to understand, I LOVE risotto. If it is on the menu I order it so I was leery about a boxed risotto. This was as good as any restaurant and super easy to make. In case you guys haven’t noticed I don’t do much cooking but I did cook both boxes (not at once although I could have!) and it was so easy even I cooked it to perfection. Delish! I could get addicted to this product.

 Stacy and Doug Gardner (the owners) also carry a product that holds a very dear childhood memory for me.  

 Oatcakes by Effie’s.

 Effie's

When I was kid our family used to go to the Scottish Lion in North Conway, Nh. They used to give you a piping hot basket of oatcakes that we would melt butter on and devour.  Effie’s Oatcakes brought me right back to my childhood. I haven’t had an oatcake in 35 years but they tasted as good as I remembered them. Effie’s also has corncakes and nutcakes.

 But don’t be fooled, the store isn’t just food. They carry beautiful glassware and table top items like: napkins, placemats, table runners and a whole lot more. The store is fun with a lot of great gift ideas.

 They are located on Route 28 in Harwich in a charming 1816 House. Guess where the name came from? It is warm and inviting and it is one stop you don’t want to miss if you are in the area. Check out their web-site at http://www.1816housegourmet.com

 You will love the food and the convenience it offers.

 I will get back to my food Journal tomorrow. I may blow it as it is my Birthday tomorrow, but I’ll tell you all about it then!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

