Surprise

Dan had quite a birthday surprise for me this year. He booked a room at The House on The Hill in Greenfield, Ma for a quick night away.  Best of all. Molly, our dog, was invited to come along!

We pulled up to a beautiful old home on gorgeous manicured lawns. I was so envious of the green lawn with the beautiful flowering bushes and trees. Dan and I are working on our landscaping and this gave us so many ideas.

Back Yard

Donna, the owner, greeted us and we immediately felt at home. We stayed in room 2A and it had a warm and welcoming feel with simple, yet elegant antiques.  The bed was super comfortable and the pillows were awesome. For me, pillows make or break my night sleep and I was seriously tempted to pack them up with me. The linens were also top notch. One thing I noticed were the towels was super soft! I actually looked to see who made them because they were so plush.

Donna had champagne for Dan and I and dog biscuits for Molly. How sweet! She even put a water bowl out on the porch for Molly. Gotta love the little things.

Donna gave us some ideas on where to go with Molly. It was very hot and we all needed to cool off. She told us to go to the Deerfield River and gave perfect direction on how to get there. It was just what we all needed.

We headed off to dinner (Blog on that tomorrow) and when we got back it was just like coming home. The B & B was so homey and warm we didn’t feel like we were visiting at all.

We woke Saturday morning and didn’t want to disturb the other guests by having Molly in the dining room so we asked Donna if we could eat out on the porch with her. She very kindly accommodated us and she served us a fantastic breakfast of French toast and fruit with sausage. Even Molly had her own 2 cooked sausages! Did I mention Donna loves dogs?

It was a hot morning but there was a nice breeze and the views were just incredible. Dan and I sat out there for quite a while talking to Donna while Molly sat and watched for squirrels.

The View

We hated to leave this lovely place but time was ticking and it was time to go.

Both Dan and I highly recommend the House on the Hill if you are looking for a quiet, intimate (only 4 rooms) and very accommodating and friendly B and B.

If you don’t believe me, read all the rave reviews on trip advisor

Donna gave both Dan and I a hug before we left. As we were driving away we were trying to plan when we could come back and stay longer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surprise

  1. Maria Fonseca says:

    I don’t read all your blogs, Karen, but I read this one. Sounds absolutely lovely.

Leave a Reply

