OMG!

Drum roll, please…… I know you have been waiting to hear about my experience with the green shake.

It was “eh”. I didn’t hate it but I didn’t really like it either. I drank it and it was ok, but I wouldn’t be looking forward to drinking one. I didn’t think it had a terrible after taste like some folks said it did. It was kind of a grassy/green tea taste. I used coconut water as the base and threw in some frozen strawberries, mangos and peaches. So, I think I’ll go back to the chocolate, but I am glad I tried it.

I did have quite a shock, though, looking at the nutritional value of the meals that are served in our cafeteria.

Our cafeteria posts their meals and nutritional value on-line at work. I had never noticed that if you hover over the meal item it tells you the nutritional content.

I was shocked that some of them meals that I thought I was eating healthy are in fact, terrible for you.

         

For instance if I had a bowl of Italian Wedding Soup I would usually also have a salad with it. I thought I was eating a good, healthy meal. Wrong!

  • A 16 ounce bowl of Italian Wedding soup at my job has 440 calories and 26 grams of fat. WHAT??? I don’ eat the little meatballs in the soup, but how much does that matter?
  • 1 Piece of Pesto Chicken Pizza has 700 calories and 34 grams of fat! One piece? I usually eat 2 pieces which is your whole day of calories and fat! I would have guessed this had about 450 calories and 19 grams of fat.
  • Pastrami on Rye has 620 calories and 36 grams of fat. Now, I knew this meal wasn’t exactly healthy but I wouldn’t have guessed 620 calories or the fat content that high.

I started looking at everything on the menu and this exercise was a huge eye opener that I clearly don’t know how much I am over eating. In some cases, I think I am eating a good meal and it is as bad a McDonald’s hamburger!

This has really made me stop and think about what I am choosing for foods. Do I know how many calories are in there? If not, what do I do? I need to pick something that I know what the calories are.

I read somewhere recently that if calories and fat were posted at restaurants people would choose differently. I know I would!

I walked at lunch today for 45 minutes and walked for an hour at the dog park tonight. That’s 1 hour and 45 minutes walking today. Whoo Hoo, not bad, huh?

Wed Food Journal

Breakfast

2 scrambled eggs

Snack

Cherries

Pistachios

Lunch

Greenberry Shake

Snack

Carrots

String cheese

Dinner

Brown Rice Flour Pasta

Red Sauce

This entry was posted in eating, food journal, Nutritional coaching, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OMG!

  1. Kent H. says:

    That is why I have plain yogurt and add my own fresh fruit for lunch three times a week..!!

    • karenmregan says:

      Kent, I was so taken aback at how many calories are in things. I wonder how many other people don’t realize. I thought I was educated and knew better, but I apparently don’t.

Leave a Reply

