No alcohol allowed!

It’s coming…!  Friday is almost here. YAY!

I want to talk about sleep.

Sleep is super important to your health. I have read in so many magazines that sleep evens affects your weight.

Here is what one study had to say about sleep and weight connection.

“In the study, when dieters got adequate sleep (about 7 to 8 hours), more than half of the weight they lost was fat. When dieters got less sleep (only about 5 to 6 hours), only one-fourth of their weight loss came from fat and they produced higher levels of ghrelin, a hormone that triggers hunger and reduces energy expenditure.”

I have to admit I am a horrible sleeper. I have a hard time falling asleep. I always seem to get a second wind just before bedtime. I am falling asleep at dinner and about 9:30 hits I am wide awake.

I have tried everything to make me sleepy. Melatonin, sleepy time tea, Tylenol PM…. The only thing that really works for me is alcohol but coming from an alcoholic background I decided that was a bad choice.

Then, even when I do fall asleep I am awake between 3 and 4 a.m and toss and turn until my alarm goes off at 5:15. Needless to say, I don’t get a lot of sleep in any given night. I always feel sluggish and tired during the day.

I read an article recently that said taking magnesium can help you feel sleepy. I was already taking magnesium in the morning but I decided to switch to night time and see what happened. I just started this week but I have been sleeping better. Not sure if that is coincidental or if it does make me tired. Either way, I’ll take it!

What works for you, if anything, to help you sleep?

Thurs Food Journal

Breakfast

Flourless PB muffin

Cherries

Snack

Pineapple

Lunch

Chocolate Shakeology shake

Cherries

Snack

String cheese

Dinner

Beef tacos with salsa and lettuce – no cheese

Aside | This entry was posted in alcohol, eating, food journal, Sleep, weight loss, women over 40 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

