Is your milk causing cancer? Find out Here

Rainy Thursday!

I was reading a Blog today that I follow quite often.  The Blogger had mentioned that she loves Coconut milk and someone commented that you have to be careful because some nut milks have an additive called carrageenan , which can possibly cause cancer and other digestive issues.

Yikes, I had no idea!

I am absolutely in love with my SO Delicious Coconut Creamer. I looked high and low for a good, healthy alternative to cream. I had tried a variety of different products when I came across this one. It doesn’t have a coconutty taste and it has body to it so it isn’t thin like a skim milk. It is rich and yummy. I guess that makes sense though because the carrageenan is used as a thickener derived from red seaweed. “It is widely used in the food industry, for their gelling, thickening and stabilizing properties. Their main application is in dairy and meat products, due to their strong binding to food proteins.”

I was talking to a friend tonight and she told me she drinks Almond Milk. I told her to check that label and I’ll bet it’s in that too. Much to her disappointment it was. It’s in milks, creams, yogurts, cottage cheese, frosting… you name it.

Many articles I found claimed that when people stopped eating products with the carrageenan in it their digestive issues went away. Based on the article, many people blame soy as their problem but it is really the additive.

I don’t know either way yet as I haven’t researched this enough yet. It definitely got me thinking though and once again, I realized, just because it seems good for, it may not be! When am I going to get this lesson? It seems to keep coming up for me.

I encourage you to check your labels and see if you have any symptoms after eating the additive. You can google it and you’ll get a ton of information.

I have attached a link that shares what products have the carraggenan in it and which ones don’t. It’s a great list that you may want to print.

 Click here for List

I have asked a Dr that I am friends with on Facebook to share his thoughts about this. If/when he responds I will share his opinion.

That’s all I have for tonight, friends. I will resume with my food journal tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is your milk causing cancer? Find out Here

  1. Kent says:

    Well that half sucks I guess.. I found our almond milk on the list Blue Diamond, but not the Chobani Greek yogurt although I do tend to buy the Hannaford brand.. I will need
    to check that one out..!!

Leave a Reply

