Lyme disease

 

It’s Friday, Happy Father’s Day to all you Dads (I know you read my Blog too!)

 We live in an area that has high grass and a lot of wetlands around us. You know what that means, right?

 Ticks – ICK!

 

Not only are ticks gross insects they can also be very harmful to both humans and animals. Poor Molly has tested low positive twice for Lyme and once for anaplasmosis. She was treated for it with doxcycline and never seemed to have any symptoms for it.

 We were putting Frontline on her and she was still getting bitten a lot by ticks. So, we switched to Advantix and it seemed to help a smidge but not really. I had read the awful side effects these drugs can have on dogs. Some dogs have gotten really sick and died from them as they are poison.  Dan and I know Lyme can be just as harmful so it was a toss up to put the poison on her or risk getting Lyme. Great choices, huh?

 This Spring I decided to research natural alternatives to ward off ticks. I really didn’t want to put the solution on her and know that poison was sinking into her skin if I could find a more natural remedy.

 In the early spring she had a lot of tick bites. We have a pond with high grass that we bring her over to. She loves to fish, hunt frogs and find the beavers. I hate to keep her away from there because she just loves it so much. She had a huge tick implanted in her cheek this April and I decided I was on a mission to combat ticks.

 I found an interesting article that a Vet in Connecticut, Stephen Tobin, wrote about combating Lyme disease on animals and humans. He suggested a natural supplement called Ledum. He has treated hundreds of cases and swears that this remedy helps rid animals of Lyme. I have attached the article here for you. I am not telling you to use this, I am simply sharing what I had read and tried. 

 Molly had a recurring limp this winter. We thought it was from running in the snow in the blizzard and took her to the vet. They thought it was a strained muscle and told us to rest her. The limp came and went 3 times and I had my suspicions that this limp was a result of Lyme brought on by the snow. The vet disagreed with my ponderings but after her 3rd time limping and no solution in sight I gave her the Ledum as directed by Dr Tobin. Coincidence or not, but the limp went away.

 I still wanted to find an alternative to poisons for treating ticks. After reading many web-sites I decided to try Brewer’s yeast in her food and geranium oil on her collar. Ticks supposedly hate essential oils and I read about many different types to try but I finally decided on the geranium oil.

Molly has had very few ticks this year so far. We have found some walking on her but not biting her. I have no idea if it’s the Brewer’s yeast (I give her one pill a day) or the oil on her collar. I don’t really care. Something seems to be helping and we are going to keep going down this path.  It isn’t hurting her and it seems to be keeping the ticks at bay for now.

 These are just my opinions and I don’t knock the tick products if they work for you and your animals. They weren’t working for Molly so I couldn’t see putting the stuff on her and she still got ticks. Many people use it along with their Frontline. I am not, because it seems to be working so far. If that changes we may have to go back to the Advantix, but for now, the natural remedy is helping us.

 Symptoms of Lyme Disease Dog

Symptoms usually appear 2 – 5 months after your dog is infected. 95% of dogs that are exposed do not show any symptoms.

If your dog shows any of the following symptoms, they may be been bitten by a tick:

  • Fever (some dogs do not develop a fever)
  • Loss of Appetite
  • Pain in the legs or body
  • Arthritis or joint swelling
  • Lethargic behavior
  • Depression
  • Cough
  • Enlargement of the lymph nodes (deer ticks)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

