Keurig Coffee Machine calamity

It’s Hump Day!

I bought a Keurig coffee maker 2 years ago after using one for the first time at an Inn. Our Mr Cofee ( or whatever it was) would not produce a hot cup of coffee for me and I was getting so frustrated in the mornings microwaving my coffee. ICK!

Anyway, this Inn had a Keurig machine and it gave me the hottest cup of coffee I had ever had out of a coffee maker. It was also the perfect strength because you don’t have to measure, you just put in this little cup and hit a button. I am not one for measuring so in my old machine I would sometimes get a strong cup or a weak one. Poor Dan never knew what he was going to get!

With the Keurig machine you can also make your own flavor as it is individually brewed. So if Dan wants Hazelnut ( which I hate) but I want regular no flavor coffee we each get what we want.

The only drawback to this is that it takes a few minutes to brew and if you have company each person has to wait to brew their cup. Since we don’t have all that much company it’s not really an issue.

Our Keurig machine stopped working last weekend though.

We have had some issues in the past with it acting up but we have always gotten it going again. It seemed this time we  might have to throw in the towel and get a new machine. That kind of ticks me off because it is only 2 years old and it was $150.00. Not cheap to toss after 2 years. Dan and I shut the machine off, cleaned out the water and tried all sorts of things. I am working from home today and I couldn’t get a cup of coffee out to save my life. I am not a huge coffee drinker, just 2 cups a day.  I haven’t been sleeping well lately so I really needed this coffee this morning.

It trickled out maybe 1/4 cup of cold coffee and the strongest you have ever tasted. It was more like espresso. Bleah, I threw it out. I tried 2 more times with the same result and I finally decided to Google it. Have I ever told you I am a Google freak? I Google everything! I have found so much helpful information on message boards about diseases, dog problems and now Keurig machines!

I came across a web-site that has hilarious comments and tips on what to do if your Keurig machine won’t work. I laughed with amusement at some of the comments people wrote about their experiences. Seems like many people had the same issues (as did I) and the frustration level was the same. Some of the tips to help fix the problem included, cleaning the water lines, cleaning out the pin and turning the machine over and spanking it.

Yup, I said spank your Keurig machine. From the comments that actually worked for many people. I guess there is a sensor or something that gets out of line and spanking it lines it back up again? It also makes people feel better to whack the crap out the  non-producing coffee maker.

I did the spank thing and it didn’t work for me. What did work was to take a paper clip and clean out the area above the needle. Stuff must have been caught because as soon as I did this I ran water through without coffee and lots of small particles came out.  I did this about 3 times and voila a nice hot cup of coffee again from my beloved Keurig machine!

I have attached the article in case any of you are having issues with your machine. I highly recommend reading this anyway as you will get a good chuckle from the readers. They are a funny group of people and the comments alone are worth reading for a laugh.

 http://www.kcupbarista.com/2011/09/what-to-do-if-your-keurig-wont-brew/

Please be sure to visit my web-site at www.fabinyour40s.com for recipes, fun and free stuff, fashion ideas and whole lot more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keurig Coffee Machine calamity

  1. Kent says:

    I love my Keurig.. I had an issue a few times where grounds were dripping over the top of the kcup and into the cup.. turns out there is a thick red spongy washer around the top needle that seals around the hole it makes.. well sometimes it falls off and makes a mess… You know how I found out what was causing it..?? Google… ha ha….

Leave a Reply

