20 lessons I learned from my Dog

 

Dan and I often marvel at how good our dog, Molly’s, life is. She gets to visit with her “friends” in the dog park every day and twice a day on the weekends. She gets fed very well, if not, too well and she is spoiled something fierce. We are loony about this dog, we really do know that, but we just can’t help ourselves.

I was watching Molly and the other dogs play and it made me realize that humans have a lot to learn from dogs. We get so caught up in the day to day frustration, irritations, stresses and pressures that we just miss so much opportunity to sit back and take life in. Most of it doesn’t cost a thing either! I know between my job and family I rush around constantly and like the old saying goes I don’t “stop to smell the roses”.

 I found this list of 20 things I learned from my dog that I thought were so appropriate.

  1. Never pass up the opportunity to go for a joyride.
  2. Allow the experience of fresh air and wind in your face to be pure ecstasy.
  3. When loved ones come home, always run to greet them.
  4. When it’s in your best interest, practice obedience
  5. Let others know when they have invaded your territory.
  6. Take naps and stretch before rising.
  7. Run, romp and play daily.
  8. Eat with gusto and enthusiasm.
  9. Be loyal.
  10. Never pretend to be something you are not.
  11. If what you want lies buried, dig until you find it.
  12. When someone is having a bad day, be silent, sit close and nuzzle them gently.
  13. Thrive on attention and let people touch you.
  14. Avoid biting when a simple growl will do.
  15. On hot days, drink lots of water and lay under a shade tree.
  16. When you’re happy, dance around and wag your entire body.
  17. No matter how often you are scolded, don’t buy into the guilt thing and pout, . . . . run right back and make friends.
  18. Bond with your pack.
  19. Delight in the simple joy of a long walk.
  20. Long after you are gone, remain a memory in your master’s dreams

 Some of these things I am good at. I love to go on joyrides. As a kid my parents did that a lot and I learned to love them. My friend, Pam, said I am like a poodle, I will go anywhere and I sit in the passenger seat and absorb the scenery! LOL.

I am also VERY good at # 8 as you can tell if you have been following my new Blog, www.fabinyour40s.com. I eat with way too much gusto and stuff myself until my stomach wants to explode. Nope, no problem there.

I do bond with my pack while taking long walks (mostly in the dog park) and I know how to set my boundaries.

 There were some things that caught my attention, though, that I don’t do.

My favorite lesson is # 11. If what you want lies buried, dig until you find it.

So often what we want isn’t easily accessible and if it’s too hard we tend to give up. Do you recall the saying “It’s like a dog with a bone”. They don’t give up.  When Molly is determined to have something she doesn’t give up. She focuses on her prize and keeps at it until she gets it. She’s also smart enough to know when to give up though. She knows when she has made every effort possible and has given it her all. I think humans could learn a lesson about tenacity and hard work. I know I could.

I also really liked #12. When someone is having a bad day, be silent, sit close and nuzzle them gently.

People are very well meaning but I have noticed lately that they tend to want to offer you a solution to your problem. Most of the time all people really want is exactly what this lesson states. Be silent, sit close and nurture.  Don’t offer your opinion, judgment or your experience. Silence is a great skill to learn!

Lastly, I could really relate to #7 and 16. Run, romp and play daily and When you’re happy, dance around and wag your entire body.

 These 2 lessons go hand in hand. How many of you have fun? I have spoken of this before that as adults many men and women have told me they don’t have fun anymore. When was the last time you did something that made you want to dance around and wag your body? Life is short and at the end when asked what they would have liked to do more of no one ever says “spend more time in the office”. No! Older people wanted to have more fun and enjoy life more than they did. Lay down their worries and wag their bodies. I do make a point to have fun, but I also have a hard time letting go. I have a controlled fun, does that makes sense? But to just let loose and dance or sing or let out pure adulated fun, no…

 What lessons have you learned from your dog?

  Read my new Blog at www.fabinyour40s.com for women in their 40’s (not really) talking about food, fun, fitness, fashion and many other things. Lots of fun and free give aways. She can be contacted at info@fabinyour40s.com

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 20 lessons I learned from my Dog

  1. Pammy-poo says:

    Oh dear – I DID say that, didn’t I!

Leave a Reply

