Bug Off!

On weekends the crew walk the dogs twice a day; once at 10 a.m. and again at 5 pm. Our friend, Mike, has created a 5 minute rule “If you are not here at 10:05 or 5:05, we start walking”. Catch us if you can!

The dog park (it isn’t technically a dog park) has over 200 acres of beautifully groomed trails that follow the Nashua River. With all the moisture we have had the mosquitos have been relentless. On the morning walk I didn’t put on bug spray. I really hate to spray the poison all over my skin. Call me crazy but I can just taste the stuff and it seems so toxic to me. I got chewed alive! On the afternoon walk I broke down and sprayed OFF on me. As we were in the woods and I was swatting away mosquito’s I thought the evening walk was more bearable than the morning walk.

Well, when I got up this morning I had huge welts on me from bug bites. They itch and are red and raised. Even poor Molly had bumps on her face from bites.

Dan heard on the news that the first West Nile case was recorded in Massachusetts this weekend. While I hate the bug spray, the diseases that these bugs carry can be debilitating and to be taken very seriously.

I am into natural remedies and will research a healthier way to repel mosquitos. I will let you know if I find anything that works. In the meantime, a doctor told Mike to spray his clothes not his skin and to wear long sleeves and pants. It’s hard when it has been so muggy to dress from head to toe. We laugh at Mike because he wears a hoodie in all seasons. It could be 90 degrees out and he has on his sweatshirt with the hood up.

I’ll bet he didn’t wake up this morning with bug bites? Who’s laughing now?

Some fun facts about mosquito’s and bug bites. Not that either are fun, but you know what I mean.

  • Eating bananas will not attract mosquitoes and taking vitamin B-12 will not repel them; these are old wives’ tales.
  • Some mosquito species are leg and ankle biters; they cue into the stinky smell of bacteria on your feet.
  • Other species prefer the head, neck and arms perhaps because of the warmth, smells emitted by your skin, and closeness to carbon dioxide released by your mouth.
  • The size of a mosquito bite welt has nothing to do with the amount of blood taken and everything to do with how your immune system responds to the saliva introduced by the mosquito into your skin.
  • The more times you get bitten by a particular species of mosquito, the less most people react to that species over time. The bad news? There’s more than 3,000 species worldwide.

My carb less Food Journal

Breakfast

Shake- coconut water, plain greek yogurt, honey, frozen berries

Snack

Cherries

Pistachios

Lunch

Salad with goat cheese, raspberries and walnuts

Snack

Celery with sundried tomato hummus

Dinner

Pork chops with green beans

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

