A confession

Happy 4th of July!

 I hope everyone had a very safe and happy Independence Day.

 Speaking of safe, I was watching Katie Couric today and her whole show was dedicated to cancer. She told her story of her husband Jay dying of Colon cancer at 42 years old. She lost her sister at a very young age just 2 years later. The show spoke of how screening can prevent different types of cancers or can catch them in an early state that can be treated.

 This got me thinking of a subject that I have been avoiding.

 I have a confession to make.

 I have never had a Mammogram.

 

I am 45 years old and should have had my first one 5 years ago. My grandmother on my Mom’s side had breast cancer as did my Aunt on my Dad’s side. I have a family history of it.

 It’s not that I am afraid or embarrassed or anything like that. It’s simply inconvenient. I wanted to have Thermography instead of a Mammogram, but insurance doesn’t pay for it and they are $175.00 if you can find a place that does it.

 What is Thermography, you ask?

 Thermography—also known as DITI—is a noninvasive, painless, and safe adjunctive diagnostic procedure in which a Meditherm infrared camera is used to record thermal patterns and temperature variations on the surface of the body, producing real-time digital images (thermograms) that reveal sites of physiologic dysfunction and/or abnormal tissue growth, as well as nerve and vascular changes that are invisible to xray and MRI.

 

Mammograms use radiation. I read in Suzanne Somer’s book that for 10 years of Mammograms your cancer risk goes up 30% because of being exposed to radiation.  I know that Mammograms don’t always catch everything either. I am always looking for healthier alternatives to my health and the Thermography really appealed to me.

 With all that being said, my co-worker was correct. If I am not doing the Thermography because of cost and location then I should at least get the mammogram instead of doing nothing.

 The whole point of Katie’s show today was if you do nothing, it can kill you.

 I will schedule a mammogram as soon as I can.

Click HERE to learn more about Thermography. 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A confession

  1. Maria Fonseca says:

    Yup, Karen, GET THAT MAMMOGRAM. Sooner rather than later. For peace of mind.

  2. karenmregan says:

    Yes, this will be the year I do it! I don’t even have a baseline for them to look at and i am 45. Not wise. Feel free to keep reminding me , Maria.

Leave a Reply

