Women and Drinking- important!

I have noticed in the past few years that is seems like women are drinking more and more.  I speak to various women and they tell me about their glasses or even bottles  of wine at night.  I commented to Dan that it seems like I hear about women drinking  more now than ever. Apparently, I wasn’t  wrong.

 I read an article recently that speaks about how women age ranges 30 – 50’s handle their stresses by drinking; drink of choice – wine. This included  women of all backgrounds.

 I read another article that stated more women in their 40’s are drinking to get drunk, more than at any time in history. A 2010 Gallup poll reported that nearly two-thirds of American women drink ‘regularly” because they are over whelmed with working, being a Mom and managing the house.  They reach for the wine as a destresser.

 I have even experienced it myself.  As the pressures of life became more and more in my 40’s I noticed my drinking increased. In my 20’s I didn’t touch alcohol at all because our family has such a history of alcoholism. In my 30’s I started drinking socially but in my 40’s I started to drink to sleep.  I would have a few glasses of wine at 9:00 and be asleep by 10:00. I don’t particularly enjoy drinking but it always puts me to sleep quickly.  Sleep has been a challenge in the past few years and I get up at 5:00 every morning. I have to sleep and a few glass of wine will guarantee I will fall asleep.

 With my family history and a weight gain of almost 15 pounds I have put a stop to this habit. I am fully aware and conscientious of alcoholism being hereditary and I will not allow that to happen. I do not have an addictive personality anyway, but why do it?   It troubled me that I once could keep a bottle of wine in my fridge for 6 months and not even look at it and now I was drinking 2 glasses of wine at night.   I refused to allow alcohol to have control over  me and found other ways to relax and sleep.

 I was once judgmental of someone in my family who drank uncontrollably.  A friend’s father told her once that no one sets out to be an addict. You just start casually and before you know it, you’re caught and you can’t get out.  Thankfully, that didn’t happen to me, but I can now have some better understanding of how it can happen and be less judgmental and more compassionate.

 I write about this topic because it’s one close to my heart. I want myself and all women to be aware and be careful that YOU don’t get caught up.

 You see, I watched my Mom drink herself to death. 

It wasn’t fun to watch and I know it wasn’t a pleasant experience for her. I am not saying never drink. I am simply saying pay attention and be aware.

Visit my web-site at www.fabinyour40s.com for food, fashion, fun, free stuff and a whole lot more.

Read the articles here.

 http://www.boston.com/lifestyle/health/blog/nutrition/2013/07/why_women_drink.html

 http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/relationships/why-women-drink/article13436803/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Women and Drinking- important!

  1. Pam says:

    Great article, Karen. Scary and truly sobering to think about – but wonderful to see someone can learn from others actions and eventual outcomes.

    • karenmregan says:

      Thanks, Pam. It’s so important just to pay attention to how much and how often we are drinking and constantly assessing, is it a problem?  I could see it in me too and I am aware! 

  2. Kent H. says:

    Great blog post Karen.. You state facts and attribute them solidly to polls and research…

Leave a Reply

