Pizza Face

Happy Friday!
Health
I woke up yesterday morning and my chin was broken out in acne. I used to have terrible acne as a kid. The other kids in school called me pizza face. Nice,huh? I hated my skin as a kid and always envied girls with peaches and cream flawless faces.
My skin got much better as I aged but sometimes I still have breakouts. I was told when I was younger that I would out grow acne but sometimes it still happens. There doesn’t seem to be a pattern for when it will happen, I just wake up and there it is.
Apparently adult acne is more prevalent than we thought.
Image
One self-reported survey from the University of Alabama, published in 2008, found that acne affects more than 50 percent of women between the ages of 20-29 and more than 25 percent between the ages of 40-49. Another clinical survey from Massachusetts General Hospital, published in 2011, revealed 45 percent of women 20-29 and 12 percent of women 41-50 had acne.
Hormones can often times play a role in acne. As women age our level of androgens (male hormones) rise. These hormones can influence excess sebum or oil gland production as well as increase the rate at which skin cells shed, which can clog hair follicles.  
So, what can we do about it? I like to try natural home remedies first so I found an article that gives you 4 all natural products that you probably already have at home.
Here are 4 at home remedies to try.
Acne Home Remedy Number One: An Oatmeal mask. This is a quick and easy to make acne cure that has been used for decades. Here is all you do. Pour oatmeal into a small bowl and add some water that is warm enough to mix with the oatmeal and make a paste. Do NOT apply hot oatmeal to your skin as this will cause severe burns. Apply the warm paste to your blackheads or pimples and wait for approximately 20 to 30 minutes. You will feel the oatmeal tightening as it dries. This is normal. Do this acne treatment daily until you get the desired results and 2 or 3 times a week as an acne prevention and control program.
You may or may not know this extra tip, but you should use warm water, even a little bit hot, but not so hot that it will burn you, when you make your oatmeal past. The warmth is soothing and helps make an even better paste that will stick better to your skin. And if the smell of the oatmeal is making your stomach growl feel free to eat what you do not put on your face. Besides, it is good for you and your skin!
Acne Home Remedy Number Two: An orange peel paste. Another quick and easy acne remedy that is good for removing acne scars too. I prefer grinding the orange peels by hand because I love the smell, but it is fine to use a blender. Put just a small amount of water to create the paste and then apply to affected areas of your skin. This may cause a slight burning sensation especially if the pimple is open or if you have been trying to pop your zits. But the burn is worth the results when your skin becomes clear and smooth as silk. Best results occur when you allow the paste to sit on your skin for about 1/2 hour. Just rinse with warm water when complete.
Acne Home Remedy Number Three:If your pimple crisis is giving you high blood pressure then this next remedy will not only work remove your acne, but if ingested it has been said to lower your blood pressure! What am I talking about? You guessed it. Garlic! Now common sense will tell you that unless you want to go out smelling like a piece of garlic bread then you would not use this home remedy and then go out, but a garlic paste is really one of the better working natural remedies for ridding yourself of chronic acne. You can crush the garlic however you prefer and add water until it becomes a paste. Hold your nose. Then apply. I am not sure if the acne just cannot stand the smell or if this herbal acne remedy has the ancient powers like the Egyptians used to say, but if you want to have clear skin then garlic paste is clearly a winner!
Acne Home Remedy Number Four: Rounding out the list of home remedies is Chamomile tea. Wash your face in the morning and at night with chamomile tea and your skin will love you for it. This tea has been around for ages and is great to drink before retiring to bed because of it calming and soothing qualities. So have a sip and take a dip in chamomile and you will enjoy the wonderful benefits of this great acne home remedy.
I think I may try remedy number 2 with the orange peels. I do have some slight scarring on my face from childhood and I’d like to see if this takes any of it away. I can blend an orange peel and slather it on my face.
Food
I had just read a Blog today about using Wheat berries. The Blogger had made a salad and threw some in. When I went to the cafe for lunch today guess what was at the salad bar? You got it, wheat berries. Since I had just read about them I decided to throw them in my salad. They have a really good texture that I like (you know I don’t like quinoa) and they had sort of a nutty flavor. I could see eating these in many different ways. I might like a wheat berry cereal with dried fruit and milk. I could also see making a salad out of it and adding goat cheese, spinach and vegetables.
Image
You do have to be careful about how much you eat though. A ¼ cup of wheat berries contain 150 calories so they are not a low caloric food.  They are high in fiber and have a moderate amount of protein. They are very low in fat and are cholesterol free. So, like with any food, eat in moderation.
 I’ll have to play around with them and see what works well. I will be adding these to my salads from now on though.
Question of the day: Did you have acne as a kid?
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pizza Face

  1. Maria Fonseca says:

    HA HA. I also had a bad case of acne as a teenager. I was called “Baby Pimples”.

Leave a Reply

