Gold jeans – Check them out!

Fashion

I snuck out of work today and went to Marshalls just to see if they had any nice fall clothes. I found a pair of Gold jeans, that I loved! They didn’t have my size and I hate to pay $40.00 for jeans but I may have to go hunt down a pair. They are really different and like nothing I own. Wendy didn’t really like them until I put a shirt against it and it toned down the brightness of the gold color.  I have to say I think I want them. We’ll see how they fit when I try them on.

 Image

My advice of the day: Do not bring your significant other shopping with you. I was at a rack and listening to a couple debate a shawl she was looking at. The girl really liked it and the guy said shawls are not cool, put it back. Now, I didn’t see the item but a shawl could be a nice addition to an outfit depending on what you pair it with.  I have a grey knit poncho that I wear with white gauzy capris and a tank under the poncho. It is a really flattering outfit that I have had many compliments on, but the word poncho makes me think of the 70’s.  So, unless your S.O. is  a fashion guru leave him at home.

 

Life

I read an article about 40things every woman should have or should know by 40. I picked a few that I can resonate with but the list if far bigger.

 

1.       A drawer filled with mostly unsuccessful creams/scrubs/supplements for your cellulite, stretch-marks, dark puffy circles, and increasingly dry skin. 

2.       A pair of jeans that are too tight, but you refuse to throw away, because those 5lbs you haven’t been able to lose this decade will come off, you just know it. ( I have 2 dresses that I refuse to throw out from my early 20’s)

3.       That as your parents age you need to start checking how much they tip the waitress. ( I check every time we go out and Dad pays)

4.       40 is nowhere near as old as it seemed when you were 20.  (amen)

5.       It’s ok to have the fake hair, fake lashes, fake nails and any other falsie, if you so desire. (not much about me is real- ok, my boobs are, but big whoop about that)

 Image

 Here is the entire article in full (worth reading)

 http://www.thesuburbanjungle.com/40-things-every-mom-should-have-and-should-know-b-40

 

Recipe

Now that fall is approaching ( I am sorry, just stating a fact) I have been looking through my soup recipes. I love soup and salad for lunch. I could eat it every day, actually.  Dan and I used to go to a restaurant on our way up to Vermont. it has since changed hands but they had the best Cheddar Ale soup.  I liked it so much I found a recipe to duplicate it. This one comes pretty close. I make a few medications with fat free condensed milk and low sodium chicken broth. For ale, I just used a Blue Moon and I thought it was good.  You can add a little or the whole bottle depending on your taste.  I also left some chunks of vegetables in the soup. I didn’t strain them out, but that is up to you.

 Image

Cheddar –Ale Soup

 

4 tablespoons (½ stick) unsalted butter

1 yellow onion

2 celery stalks, diced

2 carrots, peeled and diced

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1 ¾ cup milk (can use fat free condensed milk)

1 ¾ chicken stock (I use lower sodium)

1 bottle of ale

1 Tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon of dry mustard

1 ¼ lb of sharp cheddar cheese, grated

Salt, to taste

Cayenne pepper, to taste

 

In pot over medium –low heat, melt butter. Add onion, celery and carrots; cook stirring occasionally, until very soft, about 10-15 minutes.

Stir in flour and cook 3-5 minutes. Increase heat to medium high and whisk in milk and chicken stock. Bring to simmer until thickened; about 10 minutes.

 Using Blender, puree until smooth; strain through fine mesh sieve.

 Return mixture to pot on medium heat. Add ale, Worcestershire sauce and mustard. Simmer for 5 minutes. Whisk in cheese in ½ cup integrals letting each addition melt before adding more. Season with salt and cayenne.

 Optional: Add a dollop of sour cream or toasted pumpkins seeds, crisped bacon or croutons

 Serves 4 – 6

 

Workout

I did another Vbarre class at Studio Q. I got in three great workouts this week. 2 of the classes were different classes than I normally take and I really like mixing up my workout. I felt great after Kettle bells and think I will sign up for the next session. I am trying to plan out my work out week for the fall with some new classes added in. I haven’t had that much success finding a trainer so I am taking that as a sign. Maybe I just need to mix things up a bit. We’ll see! I feel really  strong this week though. It feels good.

What item of clothing is kind of out there for you but you love it? Would you buy gold jeans?

http://www.fabinyour40s.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

