Money and your Spouse

 Image

Money

 I took a quiz on how compatible you and your spouse are with money. After I answered the questions the quiz reveled that Dan and I are so-so compatible. I don’t think it’s that we are compatible or not, just some things we haven’t discussed. That doesn’t mean we aren’t on the same page, we could be, we just haven’t talked about it yet. 

 Image

It’s funny, I know money is the number one thing couples fight about, but Dan and I almost never fight about money. Never have. We have a joint savings account but we each have out own checking account. When we bought the house we worked out a certain percentage that each of us would put towards bills and savings. He makes more than I do so he puts out more than I do but based on our income, it’s fair and we are both happy with it. The rest of our checks go into our separate checking accounts to do what ever we want with it. I don’t ask him what he spends his money on and he doesn’t ask me. This method works out really well for us. The bills get covered, we have savings and neither of us has to check in with the other one. If we have a big item to buy, like our king sized bed (thanks Molly!) then we talk about how we are going to approach paying for it.

 I am not telling anyone else to approach money this way; I am simply saying this works really well for us.

 Here is the link to the Quiz I took. http://www.redbookmag.com/money-career/tips-advice/marriage-money-quiz#qtop

 Book

Many years ago I had bought the Abs Diet book by David Zinczenko. I glanced through it and didn’t really do much with it- big surprise there! I pulled it out again today and flipped through it. The book actually makes a lot of sense and talks about the method I am doing now. Lots of protein, shakes with protein powder, meats, veggies and whole grains. He even tells you you should have one cheat day. There were exercises in there too to help build muscle. He talks a lot about building muscle with weights. I told you I was going to start doing more at home and he had some great pictorials of exercises that you use with dumb bells. I already have the dumb bells so I think I will follow his routine on the weekends. They are simple and easy and I know I can and will do them.

 Image

He also gave you some recipes to follow, but my favorite thing was this snack chart. He advises you to pick one food from column A and B.

 

A

 

 

 

B

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Protein

 

Dairy

 

Fruit/Veggie

 

Complex carb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 tsp of  reduced fat peanut butter

 

8 ounces of low-fat yogurt

 

1 ounce raisins

 

1 or 2 slices of whole grain bread

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 ounce almonds

 

1 cup 1% milk

 

Raw veggies ( celery, carrots, broccoli)

 

1 bowl oatmeal or high fiber cereal

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 slices of low sodium deli turkey breast

 

3/4 cup low-fat ice cream

 

1-1/2 cup berries

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 slices of deli roast beef

 

1-1/2 slices of fat-free cheese

 

4 ounces cantaloupe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 stick string cheese

 

1 large orange

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 can of low sodium V8 juice

 

 

 

 

Dinner

Tonight we are having Thai food. I am getting the curry chicken with vegetables. I may have some brown rice with it, but I am going to watch my portions tonight! I tend to eat 2 servings or more of take out food. I need to be mindful of that.

 

Question of the Day: How do you and your spouse handle money?

 

http://www.fabinyour40s.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

