Almond Butter flour less pancakes

 

 Happy, rainy, fall Sunday everyone:

 Image

I actually love these kind of days. It’s such a comfort day to stay in and cook, read a book or watch a movie or sports with a friend. 

Image

 I made a recipe that I have been meaning to make for months. I wanted to try out a flour less pancake recipe that I found and have just never gotten around to it until now. I bought all the ingredients yesterday and I was determined I was making them this morning. They are easy peasy to make so I had no excuse.

 I got up up 8:20 and started making the pancakes. They seriously took about 5 minutes to throw together.

 

The recipe only calls for

½ cup Almond butter

 2 Eggs

½ tea Baking soda

1 tea Cinnamon

½ tea Vanilla

Walnuts ( optional)

 The beauty about this recipe is that you don’t even have to fry these pancakes; you bake them.

 

Yup, bake.

 

What could be easier to combine all the ingredients in one bowl and throw in the oven?

 Image

The key I am told is to use parchment paper on a baking sheet to cook them. Something about the parchment paper makes them come out as well as they do. I am told not to skip this step or improvise with something else or they won’t work.

 

 Take a ¼ cup measuring cup and pour a parchment paper lined baking sheet with the batter. I made about 6 pancakes on one sheet.

 

Bake for 10 -12 minutes at 350 degrees. Mine were done at about 11 minutes.

 Image

I have to say they looked kind of like cookies. I put a Limited Edition Maple Nut Honey Butter  that I got from Amish Country last May that is so delish! They have several different flavors that are so good! Check some out here. http://applevalleycountrystore.com/limited-edition-honey-butters.html. Look how many delicious flavors they have! OMG, I could buy them all.

 Image

 I highly recommend you try this butter.   I don’t like maple syrup and I found the cakes a little dry, but still really good and a good alternative to pancakes if you have a gluten intolerance. The butter made them delicious but anything would be good with these butters smeared on them! I could eat it right out of the jar.

 I made up a whole batch and I will see how they do reheated in a microwave.

 Image

I had found a maple flavored almond butter that I bet would taste great with this recipe too. You can mix and match a whole bunch of add ins to this basic mix.

Other add ins as options:

chocolate chips

butterscotch chips

dried cranberries

pumpkin puree instead of apple sauce – might have to thin out batter

mashed bananas

fruit to the basic mix above

pecans

 

I was pleasantly surprised at how these turned out. I would definitely eat these again but have fun mixing up the recipe.

 

Question of the day: What fun thing did you make this weekend?

http://www.fabinyour40s.com

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

