Oh, My aching legs

Hello:  How is everyone’s Tuesday going? Sometimes a short week can feel like a long one? Did you ever notice that?

 

Coaching

I found this column by Erma Bombeck that I love and wanted to share:

Image

 If I Had My Life To Live Over

by Erma Bombeck

If I had my life to live over, I would have talked less and listened more.

I would have invited friends over to dinner even if the carpet was stained and the sofa faded.

I would have eaten the popcorn in the ‘good’ living room and worried much less about the dirt when someone wanted to light a fire in the fireplace.

I would have taken the time to listen to my grandfather ramble about his youth.

I would never have insisted the car windows be rolled up on a summer day because my hair had just been teased and sprayed.

I would have burned the pink candle sculpted like a rose before it melted in storage.

I would have sat on the lawn with my children and not worried about grass stains.

I would have cried and laughed less while watching television – and more while watching life.

I would have shared more of the responsibility carried by my husband.

I would have gone to bed when I was sick instead of pretending the earth would go into a holding pattern if I weren’t there for the day.

I would never have bought anything just because it was practical, wouldn’t show soil or was guaranteed to last a lifetime.

Instead of wishing away nine months of pregnancy, I’d have cherished every moment and realized that the wonderment growing inside me was the only chance in life to assist God in a miracle.

When my kids kissed me impetuously, I would never have said, “Later. Now go get washed up for dinner.”

There would have been more “I love you’s”.. More “I’m sorrys” …

But mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute… look at it and really see it … live it…and never give it back.

 Image

 Isn’t this so true? We don’t want to use the “good” china or wear our “good” jewelry unless it’s a special occasion. We save things or put them away so they don’t get ruined but in doing so they don’t get enjoyed either. What is the point in having them if we don’t get any pleasure from them? What is the someday that we are waiting for? Why isn’t today that someday?

 I had written an article once called “If tomorrow comes”. We all assume it will but what if it doesn’t? We have saved all those special things in our lives and we denied ourselves the joy in spending time with people we love, enjoy the beauty and pleasure things bring us and living life in the moment.

 WE do this to ourselves.

 My Mom taught me not to get bent out of shape about the small things. She did use her good jewelry and eat in the room with the nice rug. If something got broken or spilled she would shrug her shoulders and say “oh, well”, things happen. I remember before Dan & I got married he borrowed her Lincoln. It was fairly new and he caught a rock sticking out of their stone wall and cut into the under body of the car. You couldn’t see it but it would rust the car. I recall Dan calling her and telling her what had happened. She simply said, “ok, don’t worry about it”. He wanted to get it fixed for her but she wouldn’t hear of it.  She truly was not upset about this mishap and never brought it up again.

 My Mom gave me the gift to appreciate all we have now. It could be people or things we have worked hard for and earned. It could be a special gift from someone that means the world to us.  If something happens and we lose it then at least we appreciated it even though it may be gone now.

 Exercise: 

My legs are aching tonight after a great Spin class. Lindsay has been filling in for Christy and doing a fabulous job. While we miss Christy and are happy she is coming back next week, Lindsay has been a good fill-in. I really like how Lindsay encourages us during class. She went around the room and asked everyone for their name if she didn’t already know it. Then during the class she would shout out encouragement to various people. ” Oh, I saw Karen turn that resistance up”.  She also tells us how many seconds we have to do something for and will say ” Come on, you can do 30 seconds!, It’s 30 seconds” and you think, “yeah, what’s 30 seconds?” and you do it. She has brought a lot of energy and motivation to our class. I know when I sweat ( I am not a sweater) and my legs ache, I had a good workout.

Image

My gym is also changing memberships. I currently pay and have for 6 years $29.00/month to use both the Leominster and Fitchburg equipment and take their group classes. I only go to Leominster and I don’t use the workout machines. I may bump down my membership to $20.00/ month and just get a basic package. How great is that, though, that I may get my membership lowered? 

Image

Food:

My meals today were pretty basic. I noticed that I have been snacking more on carbs lately. I can see that if I start to eat them I crave them more and that is what has been happening. I need to cut back on the processed foods like crackers, chips and well, more crackers.

 

Breakfast:

2 scrambled eggs

 

Lunch:

Salad with feta, few bacon bits, sesame seeds, carrots, celery and onion with light ceasar dressing. Oh, and a few croutons.

 

Snack:

Apple with low fat Brie

crackers (when I got home from the gym)

 

Dinner:

Baked Cod

Broccolli

 

Question of the Day: if you could live your life over what would you do more of?

 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh, My aching legs

  1. I would travel more of the world. I would live overseas to become fluent in either French or Spanish.

Leave a Reply

