Happy 15th Anniversary – to me!

Well, today is a special day for me. Well, Dan too. It’s our anniversary, our 15th one to be exact.
 
 
Gosh, we were talking yesterday that we cannot believe that it has been 15 years since we have gotten married! Time passes so quickly.
 
15 years ago today I was at my folk’s house on The Cape with all of my closest friends and family getting ready to get married. I didn’t sleep much the night before but once I got up to get ready I was really calm. The wedding ceremony was at 11:00 in Chatham so we had to get going pretty early.
 
 
 
I met with all of the bridesmaids at the hair salon who did our hair. Then we went back to the house and the photographer showed up. My Mom and friend helped me into my wedding dress and the photographer took some pictures at home. Soon the flowers arrived and the car was here to take us to the church. I love antiques so instead of a limo I rented an antique Bentley. My bridesmaids followed us in my Dad’s car and my Mom, Dad and myself went in the Bentley. Someone suggested I go with both of parents because that would be the only time that day I had with them. It was such good advice. I loved that time with just them before the wedding.
 weddings.jpg
 
 
As we pulled up the the church I could see people outside waiting and it suddenly occurred to me that they were waiting for ME to arrive. I started to get a little squirmy now.
 
 
It was a gorgeous, cool fall day and the church was so pretty. I had always wanted to get married at this church. As I met up with my girls I became less nervous. I asked if Dan was there yet (he used to be always late!) and he was.
 
The ceremony began and Dad walked me down the aisle. After he “gave me to Dan” I heard laughter behind me. I had no idea what just happened but apparently my Dad gave everyone the thumb’s up! What’s up with that???
 
Dan’s son Danny was our ring bearer and he was guarding those rings. He was 7 at the time and might have been overwhelmed by the people and activities but he did a great job.
 
I LOVED the ceremony best. I thought I would want to get it over and just move on the the reception but the exchanging of the vows is so personal and special that I was sorry when it was done. I hate to be the center of attention but I forgot about everyone watching us when we were up there.
 
The reception was at my parent’s favorite restaurant in Orleans, the Captain Linnell House. It is an old sea captains mansion. The food was fantastic! We had Chateaubriand and shrimp and everyone loved it. Yes, I did eat. I don’t know why many brides don’t? With all of the pictures, first dance, cake cutting and eating I felt like this time flew by. We barely had time to dance and it was over.
Weddings and Dining at The Captain Linnell House
 
My parents had an after wedding party at their house and I loved that too. It started at 6:30 and my Mom had it catered. It gave us time to talk to our guests and just relax. We didn’t leave for our honeymoon until Monday (which was so great!) so we didn’t have to rush off anywhere. Dan & I were the last to leave my parent’s house and we had a blast there.
 
We stayed overnight at an inn and we were only there for a few hours. We came in late and left first thing in the morning to meet friends for breakfast.
 
It truly was the best day of my life. Everyone is happy and all of your closest friends and family are there to celebrate with you. I was not a nervous bride or a Bridezilla so the day was just calm and fun.
 
So much has changed in 15 years.
 
My Mom and Dan’s Mom are now gone. Dad has Alzheimer’s and Danny grew up. Dan and I have had challenges with all of this over the past 5 years and it hasn’t always been easy. Sometimes you just feel like throwing in the towel.
 
Reminiscing of our wedding day and what it meant to both of us and why we got married reminds me of all the good reasons we are together. Hard times are a given in life for anyone, it’s how you handle them.
 
Thanks for sharing in my memories of a very happy day in my life.
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy 15th Anniversary – to me!

  1. Paul says:

    Can it really be 15 years? You still are great together. Hope you have another 50!

  2. Kent says:

    Great story Karen.. I might have a ring bearer picture to show you..

  3. I loved this, Karen. Show me a picture of you on your wedding day!

  4. Congrats !! Would love to see a picture !!!

Leave a Reply

