What I discovered I love (and what Molly loves)

 
Now that Wendy doesn’t work with me anymore I am going to try and bring my own lunches to work. I will save money and be healthier. Right? 
 
Food:
I love the crunch of coleslaw and how it’s cut up so thinly but I don’t like the dressing on it. I much prefer a sweet and sour dressing so I made my own this weekend. I don’t like it too sweet so I cut way back on the sugar
 
1/2 cup oil ( don’t use olive- it’s too heavy)
1 Tablespoon and 1 Teaspoons of sugar
2 tablespoons white wine or rice vinegar
1 packet of oriental flavor ramen noodles
Image
 
You can adjust all ingredients to your taste. This left my dressing a little tangy and sour.
 
I bought a bag of coleslaw with carrots and I tossed in some slivered almonds and pumpkin seeds that I had.
 
Image
I marinated some boneless, skinless chicken thighs in the dressing for a couple of hours and then Dan grilled it for me.
 
Guess what?
 
I LOVE chicken thighs. These were so flavorful and moist and I couldn’t get enough of them. My friend, Wendy hates chicken breasts because they are so dry and I have to say now that I  have had thighs, I have to agree. They were a little crispy in some spots and as I was cutting it up for y lunch last night I couldn’t resist eating some ( I shared with Molly).
 
Guess what Molly likes?
 
Curry
 
I was cleaning up from our coconut curried shrimp and she was nosing around. I told her she didn’t like curry and I put some on my finger thinking for sure she would turn her nose up. She lapped my hand like she was going to take my skin off. I gave her another taste to see if it was a fluke and once again she lapped it up.
 
That was all I gave her because I am sure curry won’t have good affects on her and that smell won’t be nice.  
 
Anyway, back to my lunch. So I brought my dressing in a seperate container and put my coleslaw and chicken thighs in some Tupperware. At lunch I just poured the dressing over it all and it was yummy! Crunchy, and a little salty from the flavor packet. In case you are wondering what I did with the actual Ramen noodles, I ate half the bag yesterday and threw out the rest. Normally, you crunch them up uncooked and add to the salad but I am cutting back on carbs so I left that part out.
 
The lunch was refeshing and healthy. Erica is having me track how I feel afer eating my meals and so far so good. I woke up feeling pretty refreshed today so we’ll see if that feeling continues.
 
I brought an apple with Brie as a snack and I ate that at 2:30.
Image
 
I did come home before the gym and eat some tortilla chips. God, I know, what is wrong with me? It’s like I was good all day so I can have chips now!  No, no, no…
 
Back pain
For the past 6 months I have had some pretty bad lower back pain, I have never had back issues and I am not sure what aggravated it and why I still have it. At times the muscles in my lower back spasm and clench up. I can feel it when I walk in the park and then when I go to sit in the car that’s when it really affects me. I have also noticed some mornings my back hurts when I get out of bed. I get nervous because my Mom and Aunt had Spinal Stenosis which is very painful and my Mom had 2 back operations to help her. Right now, I am hoping it is from being on the computer too long or something like that, but we’ll have to watch it. 
 
Image
I went back to Step aerobics tonight after a month hiatus. Funny my back didn’t hurt during that class. It’s odd at what seems to aggravate it. Any ideas?
 
Weight
I am probably going to do measurements and weight again tomorrow night. I need to track it for my eating and Personal Training. I am a little nervous to do this because I’ll have a fit if I am heavier than I was when I did this back in May!
 
Wish me luck?
 
Question of the day? What food do you love? (or your pet)
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

