Jingle Bells (A) Commercial- Offensive or Not?

Today is a Double Happy Dance Day as I am on vacation next week for most of the week.
Image
I wasn’t going to write about this but I have heard so much controversy about it that I just had to. My friend, Pam, had told me about this K-Mart commercial the other night and she was mortified by it. She posted her thoughts on facebook and many people argued back that the commercial is funny and that people should lighten up. I finally saw it on Facebook last night and I am not sure what to think about it. Is it funny? I suppose in a Sophomoric kind of way it is… For me, it’s bathroom humor, like penis jokes.
 Jingle bells, Get it? Get it?
get it
 Is it appropriate for TV? I don’t know. Although the ad doesn’t offend me and it isn’t sexual but I just wonder where the boundaries are today?  I know, I know… Victoria Secret ads. I am not saying I am a fan of those either but I feel better that they are not shaking their boobs at the camera in time to Singing in the Rain.
SITR
I wonder what I would have thought if I hadn’t heard about the commercial before I saw it. I didn’t really have a gut reaction because I knew what was coming.
So, I am still on the fence of funny or not. I have only seen it once so I’ll have to watch it again to see if it has a different effect the second time around.
OTF
I went to yoga tonight to see if I could help stretch out the hips I have been working on.  I haven’t been to a Yoga class in months. It is typically a full class even on a  Friday night. To me, it;s the perfect end of the week class.
So, I did Step on Monday, Spin, Tuesday, Strength on Wednesday and Yoga on Friday. That is 4 days of working out, plus walking the dog on the other days. I need to keep up this schedule and add it one more strength exercise on the weekends. That would be a perfect schedule for me.
Today, I did so-so with meals.
I had a Think Thin bar for breakfast and a few bites of oatmeal. I also ate some raspberries a while later. They were going to go bad so I ate the whole carton.
For lunch I brought a Mexican Chicken Tortilla soup and I went down to the caf to get  small salad and then I didn’t want the soup anymore. Well, it wasn’t enough food so I wound up doing something I NEVER do and I hit the vending machine and got Sunchips. Not great, but could have been worse too.
For dinner we are having leftover Chinese food which is Chicken and broccoli.
All in all a good week for eating and working out! I feel good.
Question of the day: Do you find the K-Mart commercial funny or not?
This entry was posted in Christmas, eating, Fitness, Holiday, laughter, weekend, weight loss, working out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

