I got rolled- and liked it!

Happy Monday! Well, it was for me because I didn’t work today!! I won’t rub it in.

I have to tell you about my purchase this weekend.

Image

Foam Rollers

Have you guys ever heard of a foam roller?  I hadn’t either but both Erica and Steve mentioned that I should get one and use it. I had no idea what to do with this thing or what it would do for me, so what do I always do? I Googled it and found a video on how to use a foam roller.

 

What is a foam roller?

A foam roller is a cylinder of high density foam usually 2 to 4 feet in length and about 4-6 inches in diameter. It looks like one of those “noodles” that kids use in a pool. Matter of fact Pam asked me if we could just steal noodles from the pond and use those instead. Not quite the same thing!

 

What does using a foam roller actually do?

Muscles are surrounded by a soft tissue known as fascia (like the thin membrane on chicken that you have to really saw to remove). It is thought that this tissue can influence flexibility and joint range of movement. Research suggests that using a foam roller is a form of “Self Myofascial Release” and that it makes the fascia more flexible and breaks down scar tissue and adhesions.  – Running Physio website

When I went to buy one at Walmart this weekend I noticed there were different sizes and styles. I wasn’t sure what the difference was so I played it safe and bought a medium sized one.

Image

I have heard foam rollers are pretty painful to use. The comparison was to a deep tissue massage: it kills during the process but afterward you feel great.

I had no idea how to use the roller so I found this video that showed you how and where to use the roller.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAuh5Pg8uYU

You know my back has been bothering me lately and Steve identified as tight hips. Well, Sunday my back was killing me after walking the dog. My whole lower back muscles were clenched up in a ball. I used the foam roller on the IT band muscle and everyone was right, it was pretty painful. I could only do it for a few minutes on each side. The video said if you feel a “tight” spot try and hold it there for 20-30 seconds.

Image

I did this on each hip and I have to tell you honestly, it really helped my back feel better. I think Dan thinks it’s all in my head, but whatever, my back feels better. I used it again tonight after going to Step aerobics and it did help loosen up my hips. Again, it was painful, so I only did it for a few minutes but it helped.

I also want to have Steve show me how to use this correctly so I don’t hurt myself instead of helping. I am not sure if I should be more rolled onto my hips or if I am fine where I am. I am going to use it sparingly until he can show me, hopefully on Wednesday. Then I’ll feel more comfortable using it. Some people say foam rollers don’t help them and others swear by them.

Image

So far, I am sold!

I will tell you about my Beef Stew in a Crock pot tomorrow.

Question of the day: Have you used a Foam roller? What do you think?

This entry was posted in foam roller, Stress, working out and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I got rolled- and liked it!

  1. Pam says:

    OW OW OW OW! I tried my foam roller and it KILLED! But I did notice my lower back wasn’t tight when I finally lay down to sleep last night… Hmmm. Pain was worth it? I will do it again tonight. I did the roll with my other foot flat on the floor, as I am a beginner and heavier. I think if I did it with both feet off the ground, I would have passed out! John tried it, too. He said it hurt, but didn’t notice any difference… Let the testing continue!

  2. karenmregan says:

    It IS painful, but for me, it has really seemed to help. It’s hard to make yourself do it but the more you do the less painful it gets. So, I have heard! We’ll see.

  3. Kent says:

    I need to buy one those.. We can talk later..!!

  4. karenmregan says:

    They do seem to be helping me.

Leave a Reply

