Don’t forget the whipped cream!

Hi Everyone! Are you getting ready for Thanksgiving? Only 2 days away!

Image

First of all,I want to share a message from my Spin class buddy, Steve. He wants everyone to put whipped cream on everything on Thursday. Steve says that no one gains 10 pounds from one meal so enjoy and slather on the whipped cream.

Image

I like his philosophy.

 

My Dad always said it isn’t what you eat between Thanksgiving and Christmas that’s a problem: it’s what you eat from Christmas to Thanksgiving. It took me a minute to get that at first, but he is so right. If you watch what you eat most of the year you can indulge a little between the holidays.

 

Speaking of eating, I decided to make a Beef Stew yesterday in my Crock pot. I am getting so tired of the same meals that I needed something different and hearty. I have never been a big lover of beef stew but I have been eating more beef lately and it sounded good.

 

I scoured the internet for a recipe and I found this one but made a few modifications.

Image

 

Beef Stew

 

2 pounds beef stew meat

¼ cup flour

½ teaspoon salt (I left this out)

½ teaspoon black pepper (I just dumped in by sight)

1 clove garlic minced

1 bay leaf

1 teaspoon paprika (I just dumped in by sight)

2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1 onion chopped

1 ½ cups beef broth (I used reduced sodium)

3 potatoes (I just cut up a bunch)

4 carrots (I used the already sliced and dumped in the bag)

1 stalk celery (I love celery so I used about 4 stalks)

¼ cup red wine (optional)

 

You can really modify this recipe by taste. I don’t think there is a right or a wrong way.

 

I took the meat and placed in a large plastic bag and tossed with the flour. I put that on the bottom and then just put everything else on top.

 

I put it on High for 6 hours. You could put it on low for 10-12 but I didn’t have the time.

 

I noticed it was watery from the condensation from the crock pot so I googled that and I guess it is very common. I added cornstarch and water to the mixture and it thickened up really nicely.

Image

I tasted it yesterday and it was ok. I made it reduced salt for Dan so it was lacking some flavor. I added salt to my dish and it was good. The meat was a little chewy but good.

 

Dan and I had it reheated for dinner tonight and it was delish! The meat broke down and it was super tender. Dan added a bit of water and let it cook slowly on the stove. I have to say this dish was a keeper. I would definitely make again and bring to work for lunches.

 

Update on the Foam Roller

Many people have asked me about the roller so I wanted to give an update.

 

I have used the roller for a few days now and it really does make my back feel better. Steve, from Spin class, told me the best time to use it is after a workout. He is an avid bike rider and he was having trouble with his knees a while back. He realized with the help of a Physical Therapist that it was his hips, as well, that was causing the issue with his knee. He showed me a few exercises that his PT had him do and he said it made a huge difference.

Here are 2 exercises that Steve’s PT had him do for his hips. NOTE: Please ask a doctor before doing anything. This was right for Steve, it may not be right for your body.

Image

 

Question of the day: Do you like Beef Stew?

This entry was posted in attitude, Dad, eating, Gratitude, happiness, Life purpose, recipes, weight loss, women over 40 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t forget the whipped cream!

  1. Kent says:

    That beef stew looked awesome.. and you did the right thing to hold off on the sodium and add it to the individual servings… As I was reading and you said in a few places and you said ‘just threw it in’, I thought when you hit the wine you would say ‘dumped the whole bottle in’…!!!

  2. karenmregan says:

    It was really good if I say so myself! No, I wasn’t sure about the wine, This recipe didn’t call for it but some others i read did. I figured I’d just try a little the first time around.

  3. Pingback: New England Storm | fabinyour40s

Leave a Reply

