The wedding that wasn’t – for me anyway

Happy Sunday, Everyone.

Well, I was supposed to be blogging today about the beautiful wedding I attended of a friend’s daughter. It has been in the works for a few years now and last night was her big day.

I was going to take pictures of the bride and groom, family & friends, food and all the details.

Instead, since I was sick to my stomach all Saturday morning I skipped the wedding and will be writing all about how Peppermint tea helps with nausea. Not what I had in mind but sometimes this is how a Blog forms.

I woke up at 4 a.m. Saturday morning and was sick. I seriously have not been sick to my stomach in 17 years! I don’t know how I managed not to catch a stomach bug in all those years but I have not been sick since before Dan and I were married. Actually, he hasn’t either!

I forgot how truly unpleasant it is to be hanging over a toilet vomiting in the cold and dark.

I stayed awake all morning and was sick several more times. Just before my Mom died she was up here for Thanksgiving visiting and she got sick to her stomach. I googled what helps settle an upset stomach and read about Peppermint tea. My Mom said it brought back memories because her grandmother used to give her Peppermint tea for an upset stomach. I never knew that!

Anyway, I asked Dan to pick me up some Peppermint tea after he walked the dog. He brought me the tea and flowers! Very sweet!

Image

I was super thirsty but didn’t want to gulp down the tea too fast.  I finished the cup and started to feel better. I asked Dan to make me another cup about an hour later and I didn’t get sick again. I still had body aches and my head ached but the vomiting stopped, which was what I really cared about.

Was this coincidental that I felt better? I did a little research about why Peppermint tea helps some people with nausea.

In layman’s terms: Peppermint stops spasms in the stomach that lead to vomiting.

Here is another explanation by http://www.buzzle.com/articles/mint-tea-for-nausea.html

For ages, people have been using peppermint for treating a queasy stomach. Mint tea is a great herbal remedy for nausea, stomach cramps, gas, stomach ache, and feeling of fullness or any other symptoms caused due to indigestion. Wondering how does a herbal infusion made from fresh or dried peppermint help in treating nausea and intestinal cramping? Well, the medicinal or therapeutic properties of mint are attributed to the presence of menthol in its essential oil. Menthol has a calming effect on the smooth muscles of the digestive tract. One can also drink herbal mint tea after vomiting. This will help in settling the stomach and also get rid of nausea. Peppermint helps in relaxing the gastro-esophageal sphincter muscle, which is the muscle that prevents the back flow of gastric contents towards the esophagus. It also helps the gas trapped within the stomach to be relieved through belching.

So, there you have it. Like all things, it may work on some folks but not others.

I have to tell you Molly was such a good girl during all this. She stayed with me all day in bed and didn’t even want to go for a walk or a ride with Dan. I made like I was going too and she followed me down the stairs and did finally go with him.

She hates when one of us is not home. When Dan is gone she whines and whines and can’t settle down. Dan got her out a few times yesterday so she wouldn’t be so restless after he was gone. I slept from 5:00 – 6:45 and she was an angel and stayed right with me without a peep!  I knew she wanted to get up and have me come too, but she curled up in a ball and we just slept.

Image

My good girl!

Still not feeling all that hot today, but I guess better than yesterday. Hope this is gone tomorrow!

Question of the day: What works for you when you are sick?

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The wedding that wasn’t – for me anyway

  1. Kent says:

    Funny you talk about never getting a stomach bug, but I seldom get stomach bugs.. El gave me one a year or two ago, but before that it had been decades..!!

  2. karenmregan says:

    Well, I certainly didn’t miss them! UGH

Leave a Reply

