The diet starts Monday

Hey friends:
So, I wrote in my blog last night that I haven’t been eating that well lately and that I’ll start watching my food intake after Christmas.  My Spin class friend, Kent, replied to me and suggested I start now rather than after the holidays because it will be easier to get it together.
Hello! That is so what I needed to hear. Thank you, Kent, for having the nerve to say it to me. I am not waiting until after the holidays to work out so why should I wait to eat better?
Image
Many of us tend to push off doing things that we don’t really want to do. I know my favorite phrase to Dan is ” My diet starts Monday”.
Why? Why not now? I’ll tell you why, because it gives me liscense to eat whatever I want before “Monday”. It’s justifying stuffing my face and rationalizing the behavior. I can’t wait until tomorrow, Monday or Jan 1st. I need to start with my very next meal.
I told Steve last week that I need to change my attitude about working out. Instead of thinking about it as something I don’t want to do, I need to think about it more positively.
Image
Why is it a good thing I am working out?
  • Getting stronger
  • getting healthier
  • building bones as I age

I think I need to change my attitude about eating better as well. Instead of thinking I have to eat stuff I don’t like and have to stay away from the things I do like I need to again find the positive in it.

Why is it a good thing to eat healthier?

  • Feel better physically
  • Feel less tired/have more energy
  • Weigh less
  • fit in my clothes again
 Image
I found this poem on the Internet. Author unknown,but it’s perfect!
Twas the day after Christmas, and all through the house
Nothing would fit me, not even a blouse.
The cookies I’d nibbled, the eggnog I’d taste
At the holiday parties had gone to my waist.When I got on the scales there arose such a number!
When I walked to the store (less a walk than a lumber).
I’d remember the marvelous meals I’d prepared;
The gravies and sauces and beef nicely rared,

The wine and the rum balls, the bread and the cheese
And the way I’d never said, “No thank you, please.”
As I dressed myself in my husband’s old shirt
And prepared once again to do battle with dirt—

I said to myself, as I only can
“You can’t spend a winter disguised as a man!”
So–away with the last of the sour cream dip,
Get rid of the fruit cake, every cracker and chip

Every last bit of food that I like must be banished
“Till all the additional ounces have vanished.
I won’t have a cookie–not even a lick.
I’ll want only to chew on a long celery stick.

I won’t have hot biscuits, or corn bread, or pie,
I’ll munch on a carrot and quietly cry.
I’m hungry, I’m lonesome, and life is a bore—
But isn’t that what January is for?

Question of the day: Do you say the diet starts Monday?
This entry was posted in attitude, eating, Fitness, Goals, health, motivation, weight loss, women over 40, working out and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The diet starts Monday

  1. Kent says:

    Karen.. thanks for the kudos.. in turn I needed to hear that from you.. We never know how a person is going to take a comment when it is in print and not face to face…. You took it as intended, a comment not a criticism… By the way that is me in that cartoon too.. lol..

Leave a Reply

