Resistance Band Exercises

 

Holy Smokes, does my butt hurt today!

 Image

No nothing weird, I worked out with Steve on Saturday instead of Wednesday due to the holidays. He told me he was going to kick my butt and he did literally. It is sore..

 

I wasn’t sure if I liked working out in the late morning vs. the late afternoon but I guess it was all the same.

 

I bought a heavy resistant tube to work out with. You’ve seen them, they are stretchy with handles at both ends and you can do different resistance exercise with them.

 Image

I told Steve I bought this so we went through some exercises with a band he had but that I could do with mine at home.

 

Low Row. I wrap the band around something steady and strong and I pull up to my chest with both arms, pulling my should blades back, bent knees and a strong core (yes, I can hear you, Steve)

 Image

Chest Press. I am to face away from the “anchor” and stagger my stance with one foot in front of the other and “punch” forward. I have to remember to put my thumbs through the handle first.

 Image

Standing over head press. Depending on the resistance of my band I either put both feet on the band and press up with both arms. If I can’t then I stand on the band with one foot to get a good resistance and do one arm at a time.

 Image

Standing Bicep Curls.  Depending on the resistance of my band I either put both feet on the band and bicep curl with both arms. If I can’t then I stand on the band with one foot to get a good resistance and do one arm at a time.

 Image

Standing overhead tricep extensions. I stand on the band with one foot and put my thumb through the handle. The tube will be in back of me and I do tricep curls on each arm.

 

A booklet came with the band and it gave me a few more moves to do:

 

Lateral Raises – Stand on the band and cross the tube with handles facing down. Slowly, raise the arms up and out up to the shoulder a “T” position. Slowly lower arms back down.

 Image

Seated Row – Sit with legs extended in front of you. Put the tube under the balls of your feet evenly on each side, holding onto the handles in front of you with both hands. With a straight spine bring hands toward rib-cage and draw shoulder blades in toward your spine. Slowly extend arms back.

 Image

Hip extension – Put one foot through handle and using the other foot to step on the band. Bring foot that is in the handle behind you without leaning forward. Slowly bring the foot back and repeat on each foot.

 Image

NOTE: As with any exercises, please check with a doctor or trainer first. Many years ago I hurt my rotator’s cuff using a band at home. I had to have physical therapy on it and a cortisone shot. They can be dangerous and hurtful if you do not have the proper guidance. I am glad Steve showed me some of these moves and he said if the ones in the booklet don’t make sense- DO NOT DO THEM.  I will definitely heed his advice as I learned the hard way you can hurt yourself when you don’t know what you are doing.

Tomorrow I will tell you about the 2 recipes I made on Sunday. 

 

This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resistance Band Exercises

  1. Pingback: Lose the lunch lady arms ! Triceps Workout | Thick Chick Fitness Blog

Leave a Reply

