2 new recipes and workout clothes dilema

Hello, Happy New Year’s Eve!

I tried to post this last night and for some reason I couldn’t so here it is tonight!

 

I did come cooking over the weekend. I had been wanting to make a walnut/date snack for a while now and just never got around to it. Well, this was the weekend!

 

The recipe consists of 3 ingredients only:

 

1/2 cup walnuts

1/3 cup oats

6 Medjool dates (pitted)

Image

 

 

Throw them all in a Cuisinart and blend until it becomes a kind of sticky dough that you can form into balls.

 

Pop in the refrigerator and eat them on the go. I need a snack that has protein and that I can take in the car with me on the way to the gym. They aren’t bad. They have a bit of a sweetness from the date and I feel the consistency of the oats. Easy to take and go!

 

Plus, how easy was that recipe? The worst part was pulling out my Cuisinart and cleaning it.

 

I also made a chicken pot pie filling in my crock pot. Not sure this is the healthiest recipe but I was dying to make it.

Image

Here is the recipe.

 

3 -4 boneless chicken breasts
1 (10 ounce) cans condensed cream of chicken soup

1 (10 ounce) cans condensed cream of celery soup
1 cup milk (I used 25 evaporated milk)
4 medium potatoes
1 package carrots
1 small onion, diced
thyme ( to your taste)
garlic
ground pepper
canned peas ( I added when it was done so they wouldn’t get mushy)

I also added a splash of white wine at the end to give it some flavor.

 

Directions:

1. Combine chicken, soup, milk, potatoes, onions and spices in crock pot.

2. Cook on low for 6 Hours.

3. Add package of peas cook for 10 minutes longer.

I poured over brown rice for a healthy option.

 

I have been looking for some workout shirts for the gym. I hate long sleeved shirts and pants when I work out. I don’t like to be constricted and I hate to be hot. So, I am looking for cute shirts, not just a regular T. I have only been finding long sleeved or sexy, strappy tanks that are long. Like these.

Image

 

Now, these technically would be ideal for me because they don’t restrict me and it is long and covers my belly. However….. For me, this a little too sassy to be wearing to meet with my trainer. Everyone is in a t-shirt and I would look like a loser in these. Uh, no!

Speaking of clothes.. Dan and I were in Ocean State Job Lot last week and we found a great CB jacket. I had never heard of this brand but Dan said it was a sports line that had been around forever and was once the “it” line to own. I guess it was created by a skier? I don’t know but Danny bought me the jacket for Christmas and I love it.

Best part? It was only $20.00! They had a bunch of colors and some had hoods and some didn’t. I wanted a hood for when we walk the dogs and we get caught in the rain. I also love that the pockets zip. I am always afraid my keys will fall out in the woods and i won’t be able to get home!  Here is a picture I took of the jacket.

Image

 

Speaking of walking dogs. In the past week 2 dogs have gone in the river in the park. One didn’t make it and a young man jumped in and saved the other dog from drowning, God bless him!  Please, please be careful of the ice with your dogs. I know the water looks frozen but it can be so deceiving. It is heartbreaking to hear of anyone losing their dog in the water. I know we would be devastated.

I went to Kohl’s to look for some workout stuff and I found a kind of sweater jacket. I can’t decide if i think it’s old ladyish or not. Maybe it’s the buttercup yellow color? Tell me what you think?

Image

 

Question of the day: What do you wear to workout in?

 

This entry was posted in cooking, eating, health, recipes, snacks, weight loss, women over 40, work out clothes, working out and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

