Yoga Poses

Baby, it’s cold outside! That is an understatement, wow! It was 8 degrees when I headed out to Yoga tonight.

 Image

I really wanted to go to class but I really didn’t want to get dressed and go out! As usual, my buddy, Kent, told me to just suck it up and go. Just do it! So I did. Thanks, Kent, I am glad I went.

 

I have had a hard time getting into Yoga, but I am starting to warm up to it. I like this class for a Friday night. It’s warm, dark and relaxing (If I can let myself relax!).  It is surprising how many people (men and women) are in a Yoga class at 5:30 on a Friday night.

 

When I first started with Yoga my wrists killed from all the weight on them from many downward dogs and planks. Maybe I figured out how to distribute my weight better or maybe my wrists got stronger because they don’t seem to hurt as much as they did at first.

 Image

Some of you have asked what poses we do in Yoga so I will post a few that we did in tonight’s class.

 Downward Dog

Image

 

3 Legged Dog

Image

 

Warrior 1

Image 

Warrior 2 

Image

 

Warrior 3

Image

 

Sun Warrior

Image

 

Swan Pose

Image

 

Plank

Image

 

Eagle- I don’t get this one. I feel like a twisted pretzel saying ” DURHHH” doing this.

Image

 

These are just some of the moves we do in Yoga. I need to learn to relax and enjoy the process and not fight it. I have a hard time relaxing but that is something I need to work on!

I have another torture , uh, workout session with Steve tomorrow so I’ll let you know how that goes. We will probably talk about my bad eating habits and drinking (he already told me I have to knock off alcohol to lose any weight). He also told me I have to plan things out to make choices easier. I do agree with that!

Stay warm, everyone. Supposed to be like -13 degrees in Boston tonight.

Question of the day: Do you like Yoga?

 

This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yoga Poses

  1. Kent says:

    See, now you have stronger wrists because I encouraged you to go to class.. Lol.. Great job Karen..

  2. Pingback: Day 3: Adding a New Good Habit | Elias Cresh

Leave a Reply

