Baked Oatmeal with blueberry/bananas and Baked Penne with Pancetta and Pumpkin

 

 Hello, hello: Did you all have a nice weekend? I was gulping down Nyquil trying to get ahead of this cold I have. I am feeling better today, but it wasn’t an overly productive weekend.

 I did manage to make some new recipes though. I have been looking for a new breakfast food that is easy and quick, but healthy.

 

I found this one from Skinnytaste.com and I made just a few small modifications.

 Image

Baked Oatmeal with bananas and blueberries

  • 2 medium ripe bananas, (the riper the better) sliced into 1/2″ pieces
  • 1 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 3/4 Tablespoon maple syrup 
  • 1 cup uncooked quick oats
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts or pecans
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup fat free evaporated milk (or any milk you desire)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

 

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375° F.  Lightly spray a 8 x 8″ or 9 x 9″ ceramic baking dish with cooking spray; set aside.

 

 Arrange the banana slices in a single layer on the bottom of the ceramic dish. Sprinkle half of the blueberries over the bananas, 1/4 tsp of the cinnamon, 1 tbsp of the maple syrup and cover with foil. Bake 15 minutes, until the bananas get soft. 

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine the oats, half of nuts, baking powder, remaining cinnamon, and salt; stir together. 

 

In a separate bowl, whisk together the remaining maple syrup, milk, egg, and vanilla extract.

 

Remove the bananas from the oven, and then pour the oat mixture over the bananas and blueberries. 

Pour the milk mixture over the oats, making sure to distribute the mixture as evenly as possible over the oats.  Sprinkle the remaining blueberries and walnuts over the top.

Bake
 the oatmeal for about 30 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and the oatmeal has set. Serve warm from the oven.

 

Note: I cut back on the maple syrup because I don’t like foods overly sweet. This is not sweet at all. You can increase the Maple Syrup to a half cup if you prefer. I also left out the salt that was originally in the recipe.

 

I think this dish begs for a creamy topping so I might add a dash of Greek yogurt on top or  whipped cream.

 

 Image

 

Also from Skinnytaste.com I came across a recipe for Baked Penne with a Pecorino Pumpkin Sauce,

 

Now Pumpkin is a food I normally do not like. I want to like it, but I just really don’t like anything in the squash family. For some reason, though, this recipe just called to me so I tried to make it so I could enjoy it. I definitely made modifications to the original recipe to make the pumpkin less sweet and sticky. By adding the nutmeg and wine I was able to cut some of the sweetness of the pumpkin but still keep the flavor. I also don’t like rosemary so I added sage instead.

 

Here is my version of the recipe.

 

8 oz of Brown Rice Pasta

Package of cubed Pancetta

1 small onion

1 cup chicken broth

15 oz pumpkin puree

3 tbsp of Pecorino Romano cheese

Salt and Pepper to taste

½ teaspoon fresh sage

Nutmeg to taste

Splash of white wine to taste

¼ cup shredded part skim mozzarella

¼ cup Pecorino cheese

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 Fahrenheit. Spray a 9×9 inch baking pan with oil spray. Boil a pot of water and cook your pasta.

 

Meanwhile in a sauté pan over medium heat cook your pancetta until it is crispy. Remove from pan once it is done to your likeness and add the onions to the grease and cook until golden brown and caramelized. Add the pumpkin, chicken broth, sage and 3 tbsp of Romano, stir and add salt, pepper, nutmeg and wine all to your taste. Simmer it about 8 minutes.

 

Transfer your cooked pasta to the baking dish and pour the pumpkin sauce to cover. Top it with the remaining Romano cheese and mozzarella.

 

Cover and bake for 25 minutes or until cheese is golden brown. Let cool 5 minutes and divide into 4 portions.

 

The sauce was a little too sticky for me so I thinned it out with the wine and broth. This is a nice fall/winter meal that is different. It is savory from the Pancetta but sweet from the pumpkin.

 

Question of the day: What did you make that was good this weekend?

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baked Oatmeal with blueberry/bananas and Baked Penne with Pancetta and Pumpkin

  1. Kent says:

    I’ll tell you Karen you come up with some of the yummiest looking recipes..!!

    • karenmregan says:

      Kent: I can’t take the credit. I find them and then “tweak” them to my taste. The Oatmeal/banana/blueberry cake is good. You would need it sweeter than I made it though.

Leave a Reply

