Lift those weights, ladies

 

 

Happy Tuesday!

 

Today is one of my favorite days of the week. As you know, I go to Spin class and we really are like a small family. It’s such a nice atmosphere with a great group of people and I just enjoy going for them.

 

Kent told me tonight that I had really improved on my form in Spinning. He was impressed that I changed my form and instead of bobbing up and down I am going from side to side like you are supposed to. I am also tighter with my form too, I can feel.

 Image

Kent in Spin class

I have to say I think working out with a personal trainer has helped not only with strength training but in all of my classes.

 

I noticed in Blast ( I hate that new name) class last night that I really worked out hard and worked up a good sweat all the way down to my underwear. That doesn’t usually happen to me. I sweat, but not like I did last night.

 Image

Even Kent noticed tonight in Spin that I was sweating because I usually don’t all that much. I told Kent that I thought my time with Steve had helped me all around. Tonight as I was Spinning I could hear Steve telling me to tighten my core and keep my shoulders down.

 

Kent also asked me if I was sore from doing Burpees the night before. He had done them on Sunday and he was sore from them. I said no and he said that’s because I am getting a lot stronger and in good shape. Not sure if that is true yet, but I sure am trying!

 

I saw an article on Facebook this morning that promoted weight training in women. I know many women think it will bulk them up and they won’t look as feminine. Steve said that women don’t have the testosterone levels to gain bulky muscles. He said that you’ll end up with more muscle definition partly from stronger/leaner muscles and partly because you’ll shed more of body fat covering the muscle.

 Image

I couldn’t find an article to support weight training helps you perform better in cardio classes but I can tell from my own experience that it does.

 

Ladies – lift those weights!

 

8 reasons women should life heavier weights.

 Image

http://weightdownweightloss.wordpress.com/2013/09/10/8-reasons-women-should-lift-heavier-weights/

This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lift those weights, ladies

  1. Kent says:

    Karen.. Now I can finally put a face to the name… Lol.. Thank you for mentioning me again.. I am a firm believer in positive reinforcement,I have done that same thing for other people at the gym.. I try not to just say ‘you look good’ I try to say you look good and here are three points why I said it.. I know from reading your blog and talking to you that you are working very hard and I know you feel good about yourself.. You just need to work on your weekend appetite.. Lol…!!

  2. karenmregan says:

    I am definitely working on the weekend thing too. Buffets are killing me, but I am ordering better and taking some of it home now instead of eating it all. Now my mind set is, yes, I may want the chicken pot pie, but I worked hard all week and am not willing to blow what I accomplished. I need to keep that in mind.

  3. Kent says:

    Karen.. Karen.. Karen.. no one goes to buffets when you are over 30… ha ha ha.. our bodies can’t handle that much food anymore..!!!!!!!!!!!

    • karenmregan says:

      I should have clarified. We don’t go to buffets but like at our dinner parties where there is just food to serve yourself. I go back about 3 times.   I know my body certainly can’t handle all that food!   

Leave a Reply

