Attitude Adjustment

 

Hey friends:

 Image

Thank you to the Cupid who left me a surprise on my bike seat tonight! I don’t think I have been asked to be anyone’s Valentine in about 35 years but it made me laugh, even though I know you asked someone else too!!

 

Thanks for being a good friend.

 

 

I worked out with Steve last Saturday instead of Wednesday last week to make up for missing a day due to a snow storm. I got on the elliptical like I usually do and it was just Steve and I there for a while. Usually he is doing a class while I am doing cardio so he doesn’t really see what I am doing while I am on the machines.

 Image

Saturday, though, he grabbed lunch and ate it next to me while I was on the machine. He asked me if I had gone all out yet and I said, “Yes.” I was out of breath, I hadn’t eaten much and I had done that wrap the night before and supposedly had toxins coming out of me. I really felt like I was doing the best I could.

  

Steve didn’t think so and he was giving me a hard time about not pushing myself as hard as I could. I was starting to get pretty pissed off, like more pissed off than I have been since working out with him. I truly wanted him to go away and just leave me alone. At one point I told him to go eat his lunch and leave me be.

 

He didn’t do that. Instead he told me I could get off the machine when I did 4 “all out” intervals. I did what I thought was “all out” which still didn’t satisfy him and I eventually got off very annoyed, as was he. At one point I almost told him I was leaving.

 Image

As we progressed through the rest of the exercises he told me I needed to basically adjust my attitude and have that break through. I was so pissed I completely dismissed anything he had to tell me that day.

 Image

But, as I thought about it later in the week I realized that I don’t take the cardio part seriously. I feel that I am just killing time until Steve is done with his group and we can weight train. I hired Steve for weight and strength training, not cardio, so I do sort of have a blow off attitude about it. I feel I get enough cardio and don’t need or want anymore.

 

He is giving me all the tools that I need to obtain my goals that I hired him for and that includes interval training or HIIT (high intensity interval training).

 Image

He is right that I have a lousy attitude towards the machines. I didn’t even think about it until I was home and not so angry and defensive.

 Image

I still think I was doing my best. I believe that with all of my heart, but I will experiment and see what I can do with a different attitude about the cardio. I am not sure what a break through is going to look like, but I will adjust my attitude and I will be open to seeing what happens. 

 

Question of the day: have you ever changed your attitude and had a positive outcome?

This entry was posted in attitude, Fitness, Goals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Attitude Adjustment

  1. Kent says:

    Karen that is good that you were able to take a step back, look at the big picture and realize that there could be a method to his madness… YW by the way on the other point..

Leave a Reply

