Happy Valentine’s Day

Happy Valentine’s Day Everyone!
 
Image
 
I am posting this a little early in case I don’t get to it tomorrow. I hope you all have a nice day.
 
 If you don’t have a special someone in your life, treat yourself. No one should love you better than you love yourself!
Image
 
I am going to share a story about Dan and my first VD (Valentine’s Day) but you can’t tell Dan. He doesn’t read my Blog so if he finds out I wrote about this I know someone told him!! SHHH…
 
Image
 
I met Dan 17 years ago in December and we started dating casually. Come January I could tell Dan was pulling away and I would ask him if he was still interested and he’d say yes and have some excuse like he’s busy or tired lately but I didn’t really buy it.
 
Valentine’s Day was approaching and I wasn’t really sure what to do about it. We had just been dating for a little over 2 months and I knew things were cooling off so I just bought a light hearted card.
 
Well, Dan called me on the night of February 13th and basically dumped me! Ok, I called it a dump, he said it was “time apart”. Please.. to any girl that’s a dump.
Image
 
He told me that he never thought he would meet anyone after his divorce and that he wasn’t sure he wanted to get married again or have more kids. He knew I was quite a bit younger than him and would probably want both and he didn’t feel it was fair to lead me on. He wanted to take some time to figure out his feelings and to be honest. Dan is very moral and hates when people lead people on and just use them. I asked why he had to choose THAT day to do this and he said he just couldn’t pretend everything was ok and have a Happy VD and then tell me.  I think I could have lived with that but….
 
Of course all my friends thought he was just a cheap bastard and a jerk, but actually his explanation made me respect him all the more. I really couldn’t be angry with him when all he did was tell the truth.
 
So, a few months went by and he had some of my stuff at his house. It was nothing I really cared about but I finally decided I had enough and I wanted my stuff back and I was going to close the door on this once and for all. I called him and we talked for a bit and I asked him to meet me in a parking lot and just give me what he had of mine. He thought that idea was tacky and asked if I wanted to go out for dinner. From there we slowly started to build a relationship and not long after he told me he loved me.
 
That was 17 Valentine’s Days ago and here we are. He hates that I tell this story to everyone I know. He asks me every year if I will ever let him live this down. Probably not, sorry Dan, the story is too good.
 
Dan’s favorite saying is ” It’s not where you start off that counts, it’s where you finish”
 
Image
 
I recently found the card that I never gave him that year in a box and asked him ” Oh, I just found the card I bought you the year you dumped me. Do you want it now?”
 
It seems we have come full circle. Happy Valentine’s Day, Dan. I promise I won’t tell anyone this story this year…
 
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

