Doing the Happy Dance

Hey Everyone! Hope you all had a nice weekend. Mine was good but a bit hectic. I feel like I need a day off to just do nothing and have some alone time. Soon…

 Image

I am seeing Steve on Saturdays now instead of Wednesdays due to some scheduling conflicts. I know I shared my measurements with you all last week but this week he did body fat % measurements.

 

More good news!

 

From 11/6/13 until 2/22/14 Steve calculated that I have lost 7 lbs of fat and gained 4 lbs of muscle! This was exactly my goal when I signed up with him.  Basically my body fat % went from 37.1% from November to 32.9% current.

 Image

Who’s doing the Happy Dance now?            

 

Do I have more work to do, yes, absolutely, but I am really pleased with the results so far. I wasn’t looking to lose a huge amount of weight in a short period of time. There was a lot I needed to learn and that took some time.

 

With that being said, I want to thank Steve for all of his help.

 

Oh, I know you can say that I did the work and the homework but he definitely pushed me to do more than I thought capable in the workouts. He’s also pretty observant in my behavior and has commented on certain things I do or say that I don’t even realize.  That works well for me because I love to look at my behavior and see where I hang myself up. Several time I have gone home and thought about something he said ( usually just in a passing, but observant comment) and I can see where I am doing something that doesn’t serve me, both in working out and life in general.

 Image

Anyway, I appreciate all the help he has given me these past few months. I know I can be a challenging client and probably don’t share my appreciation enough. I am working on this!

 

Now that I am getting good results it is definitely helping me make better food choices. I made a chicken chipotle chilli today that is healthy, full of flavor and really, really spicy. I worked up a sweat just tasting it!

 Image

Here is the recipe modified from The Pioneer Woman’s version. http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2013/11/chipotle-chicken-chili/

 

 

  •  Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 whole Onion, Diced
  • 4 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 2 pounds Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, Cut Into A Large Dice
  • 1 bottle (12 Ounce Bottle) Good Beer
  • 1 can (14 Ounce Can) Diced Tomatoes
  • 3 whole Chipotle Peppers In Adobo Sauce, Minced (use Less If Desired)
  • 1 can (14 Ounce Can) Pinto Beans, Drained And Rinsed
  • 1 can (14-ounce Can) Kidney Beans, Drained And Rinsed
  • 1.5 Tablespoon Chili Powder
  • 1 Tablespoon Ground Cumin
  • 1/4 cup Corn starch
  • 1 Lime, Juiced

 

Optional

  •  Sour Cream, For Serving
  •  Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese, For Serving
  •  Cilantro, For Serving
  •  Lime Wedges For Serving

 

Preparation Instructions

Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium heat then add the onions and garlic. Cook for a few minutes until onions soften. Add the chicken and cook until lightly browned. Add 3/4 of the beer, reserving the rest, then cook for a couple of minutes to reduce.

Add the tomatoes, chipotles, beans, chili powder, cumin and salt. Stir to combine, then cover the pot and cook for 1 hour.

Combine the corn starch with the rest of the beer and stir to make a paste. Add this into the chili, along with the lime juice. Stir and cook for 10 more minutes or until thick.

Serve with sour cream, cheese, cilantro, and another squeeze of lime!

 

 

Question of the day: Do you like spicy food?

This entry was posted in Fitness, Goals, Nutritional coaching, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doing the Happy Dance

  1. Hi Karen 🙂
    You’re Welcome! I enjoy training you and I’ve enjoyed witnessing your transformation… It’s nice to see a client actually listen, follow instructions and succeed!! We mention that we “guarantee results” but it’s an easy guarantee to make — listen, follow our guidance, and you will succeed 🙂

    Sometimes the hard part is breaking the old habits – the info is readily available these days, but implementing healthy concepts is the key…

    One of my favorite transformations that I’ve witnessed working with you is seeing you “allow” yourself to work hard … Vs holding back… Or trying to figure out how to do something and get away with putting as little effort in it as possible… Nice work practicing the art of allowing 🙂

    Thx for the opportunity to work with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

