Are your personal care products harming you?

Hey Everyone:

 
The weekend flew by didn’t it? Well, I guess it always does but I have short week this week because of Good Friday so hopefuly this week will fly.
 
I am heading to the Cape this Friday to meet my Dad’s new Girlfriend. Can’t wait!
 
Image
 
 Did you know many of your beauty products have toxins in them that can cause cancer?
 
It’s true. Many deodorants have aluminum in it that is said to cause breast cancer. I was talking to Steve last week about hand cream and he said his wife has an app that tells you if your product is safe or not.
 
I was talking to Kent about this later in the day and I wondered if we could google a web-site for it. A few minutes later I got an e-mail from Kent with this web-site. Kent always comes through!
 
 
Just plug in your product name and it will give you a product rating on 68,000 products. It tells you on a scale how toxic the product is:
 
0 – 2 = low hazard
3 – 6 = moderate hazard
7- 10= high hazard
 
I have been plugging in some of the products I use to see where I stand.
 
I use Pond’s cold cream to remove my make-up.  That rated a 4 on the hazard scale. So- so..
 
My Crest cavity protection only rated a 2 – not too bad!
 
Crap, crap, crap.. my favorite lip balm is rated a 5 because it has Retinyl palmitate, which I guess is really bad.
 
 
Image
Damn… It as such a cute bee as the thing that makes the lip shit go up. I might have to take my chances on the bee.
 
I have been looking into making my own products, especially hand cream. I am queen of hand cream. I have it in my car, at work, home and I put it on a millions times a day. I know it has stuff in it that isn’t good for you so I tried making my own hand cream last week.
 
Here is the recipe if you want to try it.
 
Ingredients
 
Instructions
  1. In a double boiler or glass bowl, combine all ingredients except essential oils.
  2. Bring to medium heat and stir constantly until all ingredients are melted.
  3. Remove from heat and let cool slightly.
  4. Move to fridge and let cool another 1 hour or until starting to harden but still somewhat soft.
  5. Use a hand mixer to whip for 10 minutes until fluffy.
  6. Return to fridge for 10-15 minutes to set.
  7. Store in a glass jar with a lid and use as you would regular lotion or body butter. If your home stays above 75 degrees, it may soften and need to be kept at the fridge, but it will stay whipped at a temperature lower than that.
  8. Enjoy!
 
It came out pretty greasy. After I made it I read on line that it’s a pretty common side effect. I tried adding cornstarch to it to try and cut it but it didn’t work. I’ll try it again at some point because I do like the idea of making my own.
 
I also bought beeswax to make my own lip balm but I haven’t gotten to that yet.
 
I found a recipe for deodorant but it kind of turned me off because the recipe said it wasn’t a solid and you put it on with your fingers. Not so much as it will get all under my nails. Although, people say it does work and work well. I may try it yet.
 
Soap Avoid: triclosan and triclocarban.
Skin moisturizer and lip products Avoid: Retinyl palmitate, retinyl acetate, retinoic acid and retinol in daytime products
Hand sanitizers Pick: ethanol or ethyl alcohol in at least 60% alcohol
Sunscreen Just say no:

 

  • SPF >50
  • Retinyl palmitate
  • Aerosol spray and powder sunscreen
  • Oxybenzone
  • Added insect repellent

Say yes to:

  • Hats and shade in mid-day sun
  • Zinc Oxide or Titanium Dioxide as active ingredients, otherwise Avobenzone (at 3%)
  • SPF 30 for intense sun
  • Use a lot and reapply frequently
Hair Care Avoid or limit:

  • Dark permanent hair dyes
  • Chemical hair straighteners
Toothpaste Avoid: triclosan
Nails Avoid: triclosan and triclocarban
Soap Avoid:

  • Formaldehyde or formalin in polish, hardeners or other nail products.
  • Toluene and Dibutyl phthalate (DBP) in polish.
  • Pregnant? Skip polish
 
My point is I do believe that products have things in it that aren’t good for us. I want to make a portion of my web-site a tab for Do it Yourself products. The idea really appeals to me I just need the time to experiment and perfect them.
 
Then I’ll share with you.
 
Question of the day: Have you made any of your own products?
This entry was posted in cancer, DIY, health, Holistic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are your personal care products harming you?

  1. Kent says:

    I don’t come thru for everyone, just my favorites.. Lol..!!

Leave a Reply

