When the trainer is on vaca

When the trainer is away the client will play!

Ugh.

I am struggling lately to keep eating consistently clean. I had been a really good job and my weight showed it but lately we have been on the road and eating badly.

MD

McDonalds – 2 burgers and split a fry with Dan

Papa Ginos – 3 pieces of cheese pizza

Pizza – 3 pieces of onion and pepper pizza, garlic bread

pizza

That’s just a sample of some of what I have been eating. There is a lot more to add to the list.

Never mind about inceasing my alcohol intake again.

The good news is I am watching my portions. Intead of having my own fries I will split them with Dan and then watch what I eat the rest of the day. Instead of blowing a whole day I am just blowing one meal.

http://nutrition.mcdonalds.com/getnutrition/nutritionfacts.pdf

I did some research on the 2 burgers and fries from McDonalds and they were only 250 calories each and 9 grams of fat. Splitting the fries with Dan roughly gave me another 190 calories and 8 grams of fat totaling to: 690 calories and 26 grams of fat.

In one meal!

The bad news is even though I am watching portions it still isn’t good. I shouldn’t have had 2 burgers but I thought I would be starving if I didn’t. You know the size of one McDonalds hamburgers.

I rarely eat fast food but I find once I do I am on the kick a few times. It is usually when we travel and we need something fast and /or dog friendly. Summer tends to be a challenege for me because all the summer shacks are open with burgers and fries and all sorts of yummy but unhealthy food.

Steve asked me last week before he left for vacation if I want to do measurements when he gets back and if I have gone up I work my tail off to lose it.

I said “no” because I really don’t need measurments to tell me what I already know. If I keep eating and drinkign like I am I will gain the weight I lost right back before I know it.

Planning meals work well for me. I know ahead of time when we are travelling so I need to plan what I am going to do instead of just grabbing something on the road. if we are going to be on the road for a 2 hour trip I had better know what we are doing for food or bring something along.

food

Now that I think about this I could have gotten a hamburger (250 calories) and brought a bag of nuts or fruit to eat along with it instead of the fries.

I am really good at meal planning during the week but just becaue I am travelling isn’t an excuse to not plan. As a matter of fact, I need to plan even more!

Tips

Next time we are on the road and I don’t know what we are going to do about lunch I am going to bring along:

Indivual bag of almonds
KIND granola in a baggie
KIND Granola bar
Popcorn in a baggie
apple
banana

I could have one burger and almonds or popcorn instead of fries. If I was still hungry later I could eat the granola to hold me over.

With the road trips I have ahead of me this summer I better start planning now!

Question of the day: What do you bring on road trips?

This entry was posted in health, snacks, vacation, weight loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When the trainer is on vaca

  1. Kent says:

    Those healthy snack foods are ok when traveling, but sometimes on a long trip I want some hot food, that is where a burger comes in and now that I know they are only 250 cals.. Good info..

Leave a Reply

