7 Effective ways to avoid temptation

Man, can I tell you about sabotaging my good eating habits!  Who can’t though, right? We’ve all been there.
Matter of fact, Steve weighed me last night and I am up 5 pounds from May!  I never weigh myself at home, but I just knew I had gained some weight back. We have had a ton of parties to go to lately and I just don’t have control when tempting food and drink is around.
But that’s OK, I just need to get back on the horse. How am I going to do that?
Here is my plan to avoid sabotaging my healthy eating.
pantry
1. Clean out my pantry– In order for me not to be tempted by my favorite unhealthy foods I need to get rid of them. I am going to go around my house this weekend and get rid of any tempting snacks. if they are there I WILL eat them.
menu
2. Plan my meal before I go out to eat– realistically I know I will not avoid going out to dinner. The one trick that has worked well for me in the past is to look at the menu before I go, choose my meal and don’t even open the menu when I get to the restaurant. One I start looking and reading about all the yummy meals, it’s over for me.
jouranl
3. Keep a Food Journal– Steve has me do this and every now and then I stop keeping a log and sure enough, I fall off the wagon. You don’t realize what or how much you are eating until you write it down. As tedious as this can be at times it is effective.
support
4. Get support – Piggy backing on my Food Journal once I log it I send it to Steve for him to look at and provide me feedback. he may say something as simple as “good job- keep it up” or  “lose the alcohol” but it keeps me accountable and even though I know what to do a friendly reminder is sometimes helpful.
tank
5. Give your self a reward – Since I have lost weight since last November I have rewarded myself with cute exercise clothes instead of food. I feel good that I can fit into them and look good and it is something that symbolizes healthy. I don’t feel guilty spending money on clothes that I am going to use to promote my good health.
break
6. Give your self a break – I gained 5 pounds from this past May. We have had a ton of parties that include fattening foods and lots of liquor. I definitely over indulged and the scale shows it, but that’s OK. I know what I need to do and I know I can do it. I am glad I am catching it at 5 pounds rather than 15 or 20.I had fun but now it’s time to get back to work.
protein
7. Eat High Protein Snacks– I love chips, crackers or anything salty and crunchy. These types of food just add belly fat to me. I started incorporating high protein foods like Greek Yogurt, hummus, nuts and eggs as snacks. they help keep me full longer and it doesn’t go straight to my waist.
I hope these tips help you as much as they do me. Hey, we all struggle to eat clean and healthy foods. It isn’t easy, but it is possible!
Question of the day: What do you do to eat healthy and stay on track?

This entry was posted in alcohol, eating, Goals, health, Nutritional coaching, snacks, weekend, weight loss, women over 40 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

