Saying yes instead of no

Hey guys:

Thursday

Thursday already. I am on vacation next week so after tomorrow I am out of work for the next week.

A few weeks ago Steve posted on Facebook that he had created a new “insane” workout and he asked for any takers. It was the night I was supposed to workout with him and I replied back with “forget it” thinking I would be his first victim.

No

As I was watching the post fill up with several other women say things like ” I am always up for a challenge or I’ll do it” it got me thinking.

Steve didn’t say what the workout involved but not one person who said yes asked. No one made excuses about why they wouldn’t, couldn’t, didn’t want to do it.

Except me.

I was all over FaceBook with Kerry, Steve’s other trainer, giving her excuses why I didn’t want to do it. Reading back on my posts on FaceBook to write this blog I sound so lame.

excuses

I kind of felt like when I first started with Steve; insecure and vulnerable.

Yet, I have come so far from 9 months ago when I started with him. I wasn’t sure why I was feeling this way again but I knew I didn’t like it.  I have gotten comfortable with the workout Steve and I do every week but I started to think maybe I need to be uncomfortable again and try something new.

 

I envied the women who said yes without knowing any details at all about what the routine was. They trusted Steve to put something together that was challenging but managable. Or maybe even if they couldn’t complete it so what? They at least gave it a shot.

So, I made up my mind that I was going to start trying, even asking Steve, for new things to do. I am going to get out of my comfort zone and start saying yes instead of no.

What if

What’s the worse that will happen? I can’t do it, but at least I’ll be able to say I gave it a try.

So, last night Steve put me through one of his “insane” workouts. I was feeling a little crampy and not that great but I did the workout anyway. No excuses this time.

How did saying yes work for me?

I completed the workout and felt I did an ok job. Could I have given it more, sure. It was 3 sets of Tabatas with rest in between sets. You are supposed to go all out doing each move and just give it all you have.

Did I do that? I honestly don’t know, but what I do know is I did it and felt good trying.

Say yes

So from now on if Steve has a challenge my instinct may be to say no, but I will not. I will trust Steve and say yes.

 

This entry was posted in attitude, Fitness, Goals, health, weight loss, working out and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

