Hormonal breakouts

Hello, hello:
gym
How is your week going? I am trying to get back into the swing of things after vacation. Feels good to eat better and exercise again. I missed the gym, if you can believe it.
So, I had written a while back that I was having terrible problems with break outs. I had been taking Biotin for my hair and nails and I had read that it can cause terrible breakouts in many people. I stopped using it but my skin issue continued.
accutane
Now as a kid, in my early teens and twenties, I had terrible issues with acne. My Mom had even looked into Accutane for me but the side effects were so scary she opted not to go that route. My face was broken out and it was mortifying for me, but it wasn’t like some poor kids whose entire face and neck is covered in acne.
My face finally cleared in my mid 20’s. Every now and then I might have broken out ( think time of the month) but for the most part my skin has been great for years. So, I was NOT happy when I started having these flares up in my mid 40’s. I stopped using everything from face creams to vitamins and supplements, but nothing helped.
hormones
I finally attributed the bad skin to hormones. I kept hearing about women my age having breakouts like they were teenagers again.
I have seen commercials for years for Proactiv and I decided I was desperate enough to give it a try. I went on-line and read the review and like anything some people swore by it and others said it didn’t work at all.
proactiv
I thought $30.00 a month for a kit of 3 products was pretty reasonable so I ordered it. I got it in the mail on a Tuesday and started using it right away.
The kit included, to be used in this order:
Skin Smoothing Exfoliator
Pore Targeting Treatment
Complexion Perfecting Hydrator
By Friday, no lie, my skin started to improve!
I have been using Proactiv for about 3 months now and I have seen a huge improvement in my skin. Not only is it clear, but it feels so much softer. I do only use it once a day rather than twice because it was drying my face out too much.
I still may get a breakout around my period, but if I use the Proactiv directly on the affected area it clears up in no time.
I just started using a moisturizer on my face again recently and no problems at all.
I understand that some folks don’t have the same success that I did, but I would highly recommend trying Proactiv if you are having skin issues. For $30.00 what’s the harm?
Question of the day: Did you have adult acne breakouts in your 40s?
This entry was posted in acne, hormones, women over 40 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

