DIY Body Scrubs

Happy Sunday, friends!

new week

Did you have a nice weekend? Mine was very productive. Always make me feel good.

 

I worked out Saturday morning at Steve’s which is always a challenge for me. I have a really hard time being over stimulated first thing in the morning. I can’t stand the noise of a TV or a radio in the morning. I HATE being woken up by music.  For some reason, I need peace and quiet in the morning so going to Steve’s can sometimes be too much for my senses that early. Odd, I know.

 

Anyway, I came home and Dan and I went out to lunch and then I came home and made some body scrubs. It is super easy but makes your skin feel so soft.

body scrub

Check out how easy the recipe is below:

 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Cup Coconut Oil
  • 1 Cup Organic Sugar or Salt
  • 20 Drops of your choice of Essential Oil

Directions

  1. Melt coconut oil over low heat until it’s completely liquid.
  2. Mix the melted coconut oil with sugar.
  3. Add 20 drops of lime essential oil and stir.
  4. Store scrub in an air tight container at room temperature.

How To Use

Use scrub to exfoliate your skin in the bath or shower. Rinse well.

caution

Be cautious as the coconut oil may leave your tub slick!

 

Couldn’t be any easier right? Seriously took me all of 5 minutes to make.

 

But…..

 

When I went to take a shower Sunday morning I had about a dozen carpenter ants in my shower! Ugh, thankfully Dan was home and took care of them for me. I assume they were attracted to the sugar as I have never seen an ant in my shower, ever!

 

So, I switched to Epsom Salt! The recipe called for sugar or salt and since we aren’t eating it, it doesn’t matter. Plus, Epsom Salt has a lot of health benefits.

ES

I made another batch on Sunday and used the salt. I couldn’t tell the difference to be honest so I may stick to using the Epsom Salt instead. I did notice the sugar is really sweet smelling so the essential oils that I used weren’t as strong as when I used them with the salt.

 

I used the scrub on my feet and boy were they soft. I want to make a scrub for feet using peppermint or wintergreen next. I have all the stuff so maybe tomorrow! Shhh, I am working from home tomorrow so maybe I’ll whip up a batch in between working!

 

 

Question of the day: Would you use a body scrub?

This entry was posted in DIY, health, Holistic, weekend, women over 40 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

