Almond Flour Chocolate Chip cookies

Hey Everyone:

Friday

Smiling because it’s almost Friday!

 

It’s almost Friday, right? Any exciting weekend plans? Hard to believe it is almost Labor Day.

 

 

I found a recipe awhile back for almond flour chocolate chip cookies and I have been dying to make them for a while now.  Yesterday I bit the bullet and made them.

burned

 

My first batch came out burned because I put tin foil on the cookie sheet and sprayed it with cooking oil.  Why did I do this? I just bought 2 cookie sheets from Ocean State Job Lot and they had stickers stuck in the middle of the trays attached with what I swear is super glue! I pulled the stickers off (barely) but the glue WOULD NOT come off the trays. I had Dan try and he pulled out a spatula and scraped the pans but it will not come off.

 

So, I didn’t want my cookies on the glue and I thought the tin foil would just stick to the bottom of the cookie. Anyway, the recipe said to leave them in for 11 minutes and they were charred when I took them out.

pan

Whomp, whomp….

 

I figured I would try another batch but just one sheet this time instead of two in case they came out bad. I decided not to spray the foil with the cooking oil. This time they did not burn but they did stick to the foil a bit.

good

I found these were very chewy. They didn’t taste bad but I didn’t love the consistency of the cookie.  I cooked them for 13-14 minutes so I don’t think they needed to be cooked more. It seems the almond flour makes them soft.

 

I read that they were good the first day you make them and then  get very soft. Mine were weird from the get go.  I also used Coconut Palm cane sugar, which I have never used before. Maybe that was my down fall?

 

I froze the rest of the batter for another day. I will make them again but I’ll have to play around with the cooking some more.

 

Here is the recipe:

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 12 minutes

Yield: 2 dozen cookies

An all-time favorite recipe! Crispy on the outside, soft on the inside and slightly buttery.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (or coconut palm sugar)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups blanched almond flour (see note below)
  • 1 1/4 cups chocolate chips of choice

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter, coconut oil, and brown sugar. Add the vanilla and eggs, mixing until incorporated.
  3. Mix in the baking soda and salt. Add the almond flour, 1 cup at a time, beating well after each addition. Fold in the chocolate chips and walnuts with a wooden spoon.
  4. Form the dough into tablespoon rounds and place on the lined baking sheet about 3 inches apart. Bake for 11-13 minutes, or until golden brown around edges. Cool and enjoy!

Notes

You can use almond meal in place of blanched almond flour for this recipe with great results.

You can refrigerate the dough prior to baking for 30 minutes to prevent the cookies from spreading too much.

 

This entry was posted in cooking, eating, health, recipes, weight loss, women over 40 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

