Letter to me

Hey guys:

weather

Hope you had a nice weekend. Ours was quiet as Dan and I were feeling a bit under the weather. Nothing too exciting here.

I wrote a letter last week to a girl I “met” on Face Book. I don’t know her at all but I asked if anyone in this Face Book group would be interested in receiving an inspirational and uplifting letter from me and she responded yes. She told me what she needed some encouragement on and I wrote the letter and sent it off.

I anxiously awaited to hear what she thought and she wrote me this weekend and said she got it and loved it.

But then she asked me if I wanted a letter back from her. She wondered if I might enjoy my own letter and hear something positive from her! I hadn’t quite thought about getting one myself but I said “sure”. I told her that things have been challenging lately and that I am trying to do the best I can but it feels like it isn’t good enough lately. I have been acting and saying inconsiderate and insensitive  things and I feel like I am just not doing a very good job lately.

perfect

Well, she sent me an e-mail back saying she wrote my letter and will send Monday but she kind of gave me a preview of what she wrote.

OMG, it was so beautiful and wise and just what I needed to hear.

AND I DONT KNOW HER AND SHE DOESN’T KNOW ME.

kindness

But it really doesn’t matter because we all have crappy days and situations that anyone can relate to. Life’s challenges aren’t usually excusive to just us and this woman/ girl, I don’t even know, could totally inspire me and cheer me up without even knowing anything more about me than the little I told her.

I loved getting this and I can’t wait to get the actual letter in the mail. I just got a taste of what she had to say and I can’t wait to read the rest.

It warmed my heart that this woman/girl wanted to write me back. Sometimes I act like I don’t need help, maybe I really believe that, I don’t know but I NEEDED that letter.

Be kind

Getting the letter has also taken away any doubt that letters from anonymous people can have value. I can add value by writing these even if we are strangers. Maybe, more.  My friend who got my letter thought it was so nice that someone who didn’t know her took the time to reach out and try and make a difference.

She absolutely did the same with her return gesture and beautiful words.

Even though we don’t know each other.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in attitude, motivation, women over 40 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

