Insomnia strikes again!

Hey, how are you?

bail

I am EXHAUSTED. I woke up last night at 1:30 and I never got back to sleep- the whole night! I watched each hour tick by as I tossed and turned hoping to go back to sleep but it never happened. At 3:00 a.m. I even changed my alarm from 5:15 to 7:15 in case I did fall back to sleep. I figured I would just work from home and catch 2 more hours of sleep. Since I was still awake at 5:15 when I am supposed to get up I figured I might as well get up and go into work. At this point Molly had come in and was making my back her pillow and totally squeezing me out of our King size bed.

I do sometimes wake up at between 3:00 and 4:00 and have a hard time getting back to sleep but it has only happened to me once or twice that I have been awake since that early in the night. Not fun!

I was trying to think what might have kept me up and all I could think of was I had half a calzone and a glass of wine before bed. I don’t usually eat anything that heavy before bedtime so maybe the carbs and fat just weren’t digesting well? I don’t know, but it’s awful not being able to sleep. Nothing was really on my mind so I don’t get it.

 brain

Dan thought I was nuts going into work but I often don’t sleep. I can’t call in every time I am tired. I never call in sick anyway but sleep isn’t a good enough reason for me.

So, work was a struggle today. I was over tired and my brain was in slow motion. Grasping for words and clear thoughts in between yawning. I did go for a 45 minute walk at lunch to keep moving  so I was glad about that.

I made a Vietnamese chicken salad for lunch today from a recipe I found on-line. It looked so good and I went out and bought all the special stuff to make the dressing, which all cost about  a million dollars, until I realized I don’t like the ingredients in the dressing! I forgot that I hate sesame oil and soy sauce flavors in salads.

So, I chucked the dressing and made the salad but used another sweet/sour dressing I use in a similar salad.

salad

It turned out yummy. Here is my version:

Ingredients
  • 2 cups white cabbage
  • 1 cup red cabbage
  • ½ cup thinly cut carrots
  • ⅓ cup peanuts
  • ⅓ cup cilantro
  • ¼ cup sesame seeds (toasted)
  • 1 chicken breast, cooked & shredded ( I used a roasted chicken from the store)
Dressing
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 Tablespoons of white vinegar
  • 2 Table spoons honey or maple syrup
  • Raman Noodles Oriental flavor package

You can adjust tartness to sweetness by adding more or less of the honey or vinegar

Option: Add broken up uncooked Raman noodles to salad

Instructions
  1. Thinly slice the red and white cabbage, carrots and shred the chicken. Place in a bowl along with the peanuts, chopped coriander and sesame seeds
  2. Place the dressing ingredients in a hand mixer and blend. Drizzle over salad and toss. Enjoy!

Here is to a good night’s sleep tonight!

This entry was posted in eating, health, recipes, Sleep, weight loss, women over 40 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

