Weekend alone

Hey Everyone. Did you have a nice weekend? It was beautiful and the colors in New England are great!

Dan was away for the weekend so it was just me and Molly. On Saturday I had a total girl’s day. It started off with Molly and I going out for lunch at  Johnson’s Drive-in. I was dying for a BLT and pepper rings. I know I shouldn’t be eating fried foods but the pepper rings aren’t served after the fall so I wanted some before they become extinct (haha) for the winter. I got Molly a hotdog, no bun and we sat at a picnic table and ate our lunch. She is such a good girl!

 Me and my girl out for lunch. Hot dogs!

After lunch I headed up to New Hampshire to help my friend, Pam, pack. She is moving and I like helping people go through stuff.  Years ago, I helped her pack and she sat down to read something, like her yearbook or something and I said, “Pam , what are you sitting down for?”  This has become our joke over the years when she needs motivation to get moving. At one point on Saturday I said to both she and her husband, “why are you both standing here doing nothing?”  I pulled out my whip and cracked it! We were going through the kitchen and I have honestly in all my life never seen so many jars of jelly outside of a store! She kept pulling out jar after jar of jelly. I kept saying ” Are you gonna eat all this jelly?”  I hate jelly and would have chucked it all and called it a day! But, we culled out the ones that seemed scary ( there were a few) and she organized the rest. I didn’t get to spend as much time as I wanted to to help her but we made a small dent in packing.

 whip

I left Pam’s house and went right to walking Molly in the dog park. It was just me and Rosemary and we made plans to go out for dinner that night.  We decided to go to Chrysanthi’s in Brookline, NH. It is a very small Greek, Italian place that has delicious food. I have been twice and have gotten the Risotto both times. Yum! If a menu has risotto, 9 times out of 10, I order it. This time I wanted to try something different so I ordered the Seafood Florentine. Shrimp and scallops with tomatoes, feta cheese and spinach over penne. So good! Rosemary ordered the Carbonara ( which I also love) and she said it was delicious too.

 chrysanthis

We were home by 8:00( I know old ladies, right) and I called my friend, Sue, to wish her a Happy Birthday.  I chatted with her for a bit and then I made Baby Back ribs for the first time ever! I was going to put them in the crockpot and just let them cook over night but for some reason I decided to just bake them. I wanted to do it at night so it wouldn’t heat up the house but I got started kind of late. I put them in the oven at 8:30 and pulled them out at about 10:30. I probably should have let them cook longer but I needed them to cool off before I could put them in the fridge and it was getting late. They were good, but not falling off the bone as the recipe said they would.  Crockpot for sure, next time!

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

Servings:6

 4 lbs pork ribs 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees f.
  2. Peel off tough membrane that covers the bony side of the ribs.
  3. Mix together the sugar and spices to make the rub.
  4. Apply rub to ribs on all sides.
  5. Lay ribs on two layers of foil, shiny side out and meaty side down.
  6. Lay two layers of foil on top of ribs and roll and crimp edges tightly, edges facing up to seal.
  7. Place on baking sheet and bake for 2-2 1/2 hours or until meat is starting to shrink away from the ends of the bone.
  8. Remove from oven.
  9. Heat broiler.
  10. Cut ribs into serving sized portions of 2 or 3 ribs.
  11. Arrange on broiler pan, bony side up.
  12. Brush on sauce.
  13. Broil for 1 or 2 minutes until sauce is cooked on and bubbly.
  14. Turn ribs over.
  15. Repeat on other side.
  16. Alternately, you can grill the ribs on your grill to cook on the sauce.

 

 

This entry was posted in adventures, cooking, eating, friends, fun, health, Pets, recipes, weekend, women over 40 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

