Bacon and Corn chowder recipe

Hey guys:

 fall

How’s it going? I am loving this cool, New England weather. The trees are so pretty with the colored leaves and the leaves blanketing the ground. Just love this time of the year.

 chowda

I have also been cooking again and in particular, soups. This weekend I made a sweet corn and bacon chowder.  So good. I made a few modifications to the original recipe. Here is my version.

 Ingredients

■4 Tablespoons 1/2 Stick Butter

■1 whole Onion, Chopped

■3 slices Bacon, Cut Into Pieces

■3 whole Bell Peppers, Finely Diced (red, Yellow, Orange)

■1 bag of frozen sweet corn

■1/4 cup All-purpose Flour

■3 cups Chicken Stock Or Broth

■2 cups condensed milk ( or half and half)

■1 cup (heaping) Grated Monterey Jack

■1 cup (heaping) Pepper Jack

■1 – 1.5 capfuls of liquid smoke

Preparation Instructions

 In a large pot, melt butter over medium-high heat. Cook onions for a couple of minutes. Add bacon and cook until crispy, then add diced bell peppers and cook for a couple of minutes. Finally, add corn and cook for a minute.

 Sprinkle flour evenly over the top and stir to combine. Pour in broth and stir well. Allow this to thicken for 3 or 4 minutes, then reduce heat to low. Stir in milk, then cover and allow to simmer/thicken for 15 minutes or so.

 Stir in cheeses. When cheese is melted and the soup is hot, check seasonings. Add salt and pepper as needed.

I also got a ton done on my new web-site for my letters: www.littlebeamofsunshine.com. I still have a few tweaks to make but it should be done this week!  I am really excited to get this going. I want to reach out to some non -profits and see if I can propose my idea to them and to write some letters to some ladies who might need one.

HW

 If you know anyone that needs an uplifting letter, please let me know!

 We were going to go to the movies on Saturday and see Gone Girl, but Dan was not feeling that great. It was pouring and I was in my bathrobe so we opted to stay in and just chill out. I generally hate the movies so if I suggest going Dan always takes me up on it. Gone Girl got great reviews so maybe next weekend? Nope, we have a dinner party. Maybe on our vacation in 2 weeks?

GG

Question of the day: Do you like fall?

This entry was posted in cooking, eating, Marriage, men and woman, recipes, vacation, weekend and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

