TRX class

Hey Everybody:

 Oh, I took a TRX class last night at Fitness Your Weigh with Kerry, Steve’s other trainer. I have been wanting to take a class with her for a while now but just haven’t done it. My friend, Christy wanted to try the TRX so I told her I’d tag along and we could go together.

 What is TRX, you ask?

 TRX is suspension training that uses your body weight for resistance. Suspension bands are hung from the ceiling, allowing a 360 degree rotation to target all muscle groups and challenge stability and balance. TRX® Suspension Training® body-weight exercise simultaneously develops strength, power, endurance, mobility, durability, balance, flexibility and core stability.

 There were 2 other women in class  and we each got our own TRX band and we got to work. We started off warming up and Christy and I were kind of giggling because we were trying to figure out the moves without swinging into each other. Well, maybe that was just me…. At one point I was going the wrong way and Christy had to tell me to switch directions. Whoops.

 Then the real work began. It’s amazing what you can do with just these 2 bands that hang from the ceiling!

Here are some of the  moves we did (pictures not from class)

TRX Squat

TRX Atomic Push-Up

TRX Low Row

TRX Chest Press

The moves weren’t hard, they were slow and controlled. I lost my balance a few times in some of them but I felt like I could do them and keep up. I even did a few of the harder moves to challenge myself.

At the end Kerry had us lie on mats and she took us through a relaxation process. She came around and asked each of us if we would like aromatherapy. I said yes and she smoothed some oil on my shoulders and forehead. I have to say it was relaxing.

Then she had tea for us. It was nice to stand around and chat with the other ladies for a bit.

It was a great class. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would and boy could I feel it today! My arms and back are sore, but in a good way.

I want a TRX contraption for home now!

This entry was posted in Fitness, friends, fun, Goals, weight loss, women over 40, working out and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

