Epihpany about handling stress

Hey Ladies…..

Hey

 It’s so funny, I almost never say “Hi” I usually say “hey”. Just a random observation.

 This has been an unusually stressful past few weeks.  We all have stress in our lives but sometimes more than other times.  I noticed that I have been eating poorly and drinking more alcohol than usual and getting very little sleep.

 I never used to be a stress eater.  When I was younger if I got stressed I didn’t eat at all. My stomach would be in knots and I wanted nothing to do with food. As I have aged I noticed that I do eat and I reach for comfort foods that are rich and savory, like a chicken pot pie, ribs or mac and cheese. Although I love these foods I don’t often eat them as they are full of empty calories, have little nutritional value and are fattening.

comfort

 I have also justified my drinking wine at night because I have been struggling so much with sleep! If anything is on my mind I don’t sleep and I have been exhausted lately.  The thing is I can be tired all day but come to going to bed I either can’t fall asleep or I don’t stay asleep. I am often awake at 2 or 3 a.m. and that’s it for the night. I have just gotten 4 or 5 hours of sleep and I am done. Needless to say I am dragging myself through work and any workout I do and I am doing neither well.

 So, I came to the realization that in times of great stress I really, really need to take care of myself even more.

food

 As much as I want to reach for the foods that make me feel “better” in reality they won’t.  I may feel like eating a pan of mac and cheese and feel comforted while doing it, but then I will feel sluggish, bloated and lacking in energy. It’s more important now more than ever to eat healthy, nutritious and nourishing foods.  I need to fuel my body, not bog it down with unhealthy carbs and sugar.

 With that being said I also need to ditch the alcohol. Often times this is the reason I wake up in the middle of the night and can’t get back to sleep. The wine will knock me out but it is known for also waking you up when it wears off. So, it’s really counterproductive. I also often wake up with a sinus headache from wine. My friend, Bill, told me wine notoriously bothers your sinuses.  It shrinks something in your sinuses and causes headaches. I feel out of it the next day too for most of the morning. Apparently the drinking isn’t helping with my sleeping at all and I feel crummy from it.

 It’s not going to make me feel better if I gain back all the weight I had lost either and my newly grown (ha-ha) muscles turn to mush.

 What am I gonna do about my sleeping then? I am going back to my Night time tea and I am going to try Melatonin and Valerian root together. I had been using just the Melatonin and it wasn’t doing a great job when I am really stressed out. I just read an article to try both supplements together. What can it hurt? I am also going to stay up until I am tired. I make myself go to bed at 10:00 but often times, I am not tired yet. Maybe if I stay up until I am sleepy  I will sleep and not wake up in the early morning hours?

meditate

Seriously? I just added this picture for humor. Meditit, anyone?

 Meditation, relaxation or whatever you want to call it also needs to be a part of my health regime. I need to find a way to relax my mind and body. I have a really hard time relaxing and letting go, never mind when I am worried about something. I will be looking into ways to meditate or relax and I’ll let you know what I find.

My first question to people when things are going badly or are stressful is ” what are you doing to take care of yourself?”

care

I need to ask myself that same question and make sure I am doing everything to stay strong and healthy, physically and mentally. That means eating well, exercising, drinking limitedly, sleeping well and relaxing!

This entry was posted in alcohol, attitude, eating, Fitness, health, Sleep, Stress, Uncategorized, working out and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

