Friend’s Of Kevin radio show

Hey Guys: I had so much fun on the Friend’s of Kevin show talking about my letter project: little beam of sunshine.  This was my second time on and it was just as exciting and fun.
beam
If you couldn’t listen live here is the link or I have the transcript (pretty much) written below:
1. What is little beam of sunshine about?
 A project that I started to hand write letters to folks who may need uplifting, reassurance or reminding  that they are awesome. Sometimes we need that reminder when things get tough. I’ll mail a letter to someone’s house and try to bring them some kindness
2. How did you think of this idea?
I have wanted to volunteer for some time now at places like Dress for Success or Neads but I just can’t be somewhere. I can write letters though and I love to write, especially just from the heart.
3. Can you give me an example of what types of people or situations you would write a letter for?
Single Moms having a tough time
Motherless daughters who miss their Moms and could use support
People looking for jobs or are out of work
4. Why hand write a letter and not e-mail?
The written letter is a dead art. How fun is it to get a letter in the mail nowadays? It’s exciting anticipating it coming too.
5. Do you give advice?
No, I don’t give advice at all. I talk in generaities that could apply to anyone. The single Mom for example: I spoke about how hard it is and there are no manuals; you just do the best you can do and you’ll goof up but, hey, you’re human. It’s simply bringing ” a little beam of sunshsine” into someone’s life. Hence, the name of my web-site.
6. Do you think a stranger would want a letter from you?
That was a concern when I first started this but I have written to strangers and one asked if they could write me back. She did and it was a beautiful letter that I so enjoyed receieving. An act of kindness can mean just as much from a stranger, sometimes more
7. Is there a fee for sending a letter?
Nope, I don’t charge anything for sending a letter. Just go to www.littlebeamofsunshine.com and fill out the form and I’ll send one along
8. Can people reccommend someone else to receieve a letter?
Yes, if you know anyone that you feel may need a letter you can certainly request one for them. Just let me know it is for a friend and give me a hint on what they are struggling with.
9. Who pays for the paper and envelopes?
I pay for everything. I do have a donations tab set up on my web-site if anyone would like to donate for paper, envelops or stamps.
10. How can people help?
I would love for people to spread the word about my letters. With the holidays coming it can be such a lonely time for people. I am also looking for organizations or groups who could use some positive reinforcement. Simply spreading the word.
This entry was posted in charity, interview, kindness, Life purpose, motivation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

