Wipe out at the gym!

Hey Guys: How is your week going? Friday tomorrow!

global

I have been getting back to working out a little more these past two weeks. I have gotten in 3-4 gym workouts last week and this week. It had only been 2 so it is improving.

On Monday I went to Step and I decided that since I have missed so much “gym time” I would step it up a notch and push myself harder in class. I was doing the extra jumping and the higher intensity moves and I could feel my legs fatiguing. Instead of pulling back on my intensity I decided to try and shake it off and kept going at that level. Well, I went to step up on the bench and I don’t know if my foot slipped off the bench or if my legs were just tired and gave out.

step

You guys, I fell on my ass. Hard..

 

In front of everyone.

ankle

I got up and I noticed my ankle was sore but I picked right back up and kept going. When the song ended the woman next to me asked me if I was ok and I told her “yes, thank you for asking”.  I really wanted to leave but my pride wouldn’t let me.

I went home and took a shower and didn’t think too much of it. When I woke up on Tuesday I noticed both ankles were a bit sore now. As the day went on I noticed my wrist was sore and my butt and back were killing me! I looked in the mirror to see if I had a bruised butt. No bruise, but there did seem to be a dent in it. Maybe it’s always there, I don’t know, but I ached.

I put some Arnica Oil on my ankle and butt and went to bed. I am sure Spin class didn’t help but on Wednesday my back was killing me! I foam rolled for a while before going to work out with Steve and that helped some but not that much. Since I posted my fall on Face Book he was aware of my mishap. He asked if anything was hurting before we began but everything was fine, with the exception of my back. We worked around it and it was all fine,

foam

I was telling Steve my theory of pushing hard because I felt like I needed to make up for lost time. He told me that you need to know when to push and when to purposely pull back. He told me it wasn’t smart to push myself when I hadn’t done that workout in months. My body needs to work back up to that level of workout again. I was thinking that I would just do what I have always done at the level I always (sometimes) do it at.

Boy, did I learn a lesson the hard way.

3 days later I can still feel a little tenderness in my ankles and wrist. My back is the biggest challenge right now. Still sore, but I’ll live.

Next time I know I need to ease my way back into a workout.

This entry was posted in Fitness, foam roller, health, working out and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

