Cauliflower Pizza Crust- really!

Hey Guys:

I had the day off Friday and spent the day with the Birthday girl (Molly) making a recipe that I have been itching to try.

I found a recipe for cauliflower pizza crust and was dying to try it.

Anyway, after I was done I started making the pizza crust. I was truly skeptical about this and did not have high expectations that it would be good.

Here is the recipe that I got from http://www.detoxinista.com

Ingredients:

4 cups raw cauliflower rice
1 egg, beaten
1/3 cup soft goat cheese (chevre)
1 teaspoon dried oregano
pinch of salt

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 400F, then get to work on your crust.

I had a hard time with the squeezing of the water because the cauliflower oozed out of the sides of the  cheesecloth and the water coming out was hot! I bought a mesh bag at Target to use in the future to squeeze the cauliflower. That way none can escape.

This was the crust after I baked the pizza . I forgot to take a picture before I added the pesto.

You can see the crust is nicely browned.

Pesto

Not shaped too well, but hey, it was my first try!

 Pizza
This was my end result pizza. I know the cheese isn’t melted all the way
but I was starving and couldn’t wait. It was actually pretty good!
The crust held up and could be picked up and it tasted good.
I might make a few adjustments now like adding garlic
and trying to get a more consistent crust but the taste was good.
If you don’t want the carbs or you can’t have carbs this is a great alternative.
It was a bit of a pain to make but if you make a few and freeze them it would be so worth it.
Can’t wait to try this again!
This entry was posted in cooking, DIY, eating, health, recipes, weight loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

