Traditions

Hey Y’all: One more week to Christmas. Holey Moley.

Last night I was telling Steve about a tradition my Dad did when we were kids. At Christmas he would go out and buy my brother and I a gift just from him.  He would give us hints throughout the month of December and I would try and guess what it was.

One year he gave me a picture frame to put my boyfriend’s picture in ( I still have it) and another year he gave me a stuffed animal. It was never a big gift but it was always my favorite gift to open and I always saved it as the last one.

This is the actual frame. Thought I still had the BF picture in it, but nope!

When I was 16 I wanted  a car, like every other kid. I was hoping, but not really expecting his special gift to me would be a car.

The hints he gave me that year about his gift was it was brown, almost everyone has one and if I took car of it it could last me a life time.

car

This was eventually my first car.

That’s a car, right?

When I excitedly opened the gift that Christmas morning I opened the box.

It was  a Bible!

Bible

I remember thinking to myself to smile and say thank you but I had no clue why he had given this to me as his special gift. I didn’t want a Bible.

But he said to me ” You are getting to the age where you will be making difficult choices and this has helped me throughout my lifetime. I know you may not use it now but peruse through it and someday I hope it will be a comfort to you when you need it”.

Now my selfish 16 year old self was like ” yeah, great gift, Dad” but my 46 year old self still remembers that gift like it was yesterday.

Bride

The last time my Dad gave me “his” gift was the Christmas before I got married. He gave me the Bride’s book of Etiquette. I doubted this was his idea but my Mom swore it was.

Dad has a hard time remembering now that it even is Christmas, never mind that he used to get us gifts.

But the memory of that tradition will always stay with me.

 

This entry was posted in Christmas, Gratitude, Holiday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Traditions

  1. Sue says:

    Love the story. But I love the cool car🚗

  2. karenmregan says:

    The car wasn’t so cool at 16. It was huge and it spewed smoke everyone I hit the gas from an oil leak! Haha. Lots of memories tho.

Leave a Reply

